Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Really great for a cold wintery day, and is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My new favorite for ham leftovers! I make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is a good recipe "as is", but it would have been five star had the flavor been stronger. I would suggest less water and/or the addition of chicken broth. You won't taste the broth but it imparts flavor and blends beautifully with the ham. Also, add a 1/2 tsp. vinegar to your bowl at the table. It really adds pizazz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Superb!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debbie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made this today-well started last night, it was soooo good! Cooked my hambone in veggie broth & seasoned water last night after putting the beans to soak ( used navy, pinto & black beans) & cooked the beans in the brith until almost tender then added the other veggies. Ham too, leftover from another meal--it's soooo good-- will do this agaiin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I did try this.I read many reviews & saw where some had changed it or added things to it.Being a guy & a novice,I thought I would try it as written & if it didn't meet my expectations, then I would alter it.Having said that,I am a guy & I've seen my wife use her slow cooker & having scorched a pot of beans on the stovetop as a teen,I figured it was safer.After an overnight soaking,I placed the beans & smoked porkhocks in the crockpot.After the 3rd quart of water,I decided that a 4th quart would barely fit,so I omitted it.Well....it cooked all day & was quite bland.My sweet wife suggested we finish it on the stove without a lid & let some of that water cook off.By the time it did,we already ate supper,so,after it cooled,she put it in the fridge.The next evening,she reheated it & served it with some homemade biscuits left over from breakfast.It was soooo good!I talked about it all night!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Davis

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Used vegetable broth & added red potatoes & chopped cabbage. It was really tasty & great way to use up ham bone from Easter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this last night from a frozen leftover ham bone that was pretty meaty. It was wonderful!. I used a quart of chicken stock and very little water. That was the only change I made. So easy to make and my family loved it including my picky teenagers! I will make this again after Easter for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Way too much liquid. I put it in the crock pot all day and ended up taking a lot of liquid out before mashing it and it was still runny. It was quite bland too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Baker-Bayard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Incredibly bland as written - but that's exactly what my mom used to make! I wanted something with some flavor, so I followed some adjustments from others and LOVED them. 4 carrots, 4 celery stalks, 3 cloves garlic (instead of powder), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 1/2 tsp paprika, scant 1/8 tsp cayenne red pepper, 2 tbsp brown sugar. Used just water, no chicken stock. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenTess

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States