Ham and Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Followed recipe except I had canned beans to use up. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Double seasonings, easy & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Really great for a cold wintery day, and is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My new favorite for ham leftovers! I make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is a good recipe "as is", but it would have been five star had the flavor been stronger. I would suggest less water and/or the addition of chicken broth. You won't taste the broth but it imparts flavor and blends beautifully with the ham. Also, add a 1/2 tsp. vinegar to your bowl at the table. It really adds pizazz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Superb!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debbie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made this today-well started last night, it was soooo good! Cooked my hambone in veggie broth & seasoned water last night after putting the beans to soak ( used navy, pinto & black beans) & cooked the beans in the brith until almost tender then added the other veggies. Ham too, leftover from another meal--it's soooo good-- will do this agaiin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I did try this.I read many reviews & saw where some had changed it or added things to it.Being a guy & a novice,I thought I would try it as written & if it didn't meet my expectations, then I would alter it.Having said that,I am a guy & I've seen my wife use her slow cooker & having scorched a pot of beans on the stovetop as a teen,I figured it was safer.After an overnight soaking,I placed the beans & smoked porkhocks in the crockpot.After the 3rd quart of water,I decided that a 4th quart would barely fit,so I omitted it.Well....it cooked all day & was quite bland.My sweet wife suggested we finish it on the stove without a lid & let some of that water cook off.By the time it did,we already ate supper,so,after it cooled,she put it in the fridge.The next evening,she reheated it & served it with some homemade biscuits left over from breakfast.It was soooo good!I talked about it all night!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Davis

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Used vegetable broth & added red potatoes & chopped cabbage. It was really tasty & great way to use up ham bone from Easter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this last night from a frozen leftover ham bone that was pretty meaty. It was wonderful!. I used a quart of chicken stock and very little water. That was the only change I made. So easy to make and my family loved it including my picky teenagers! I will make this again after Easter for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States