Ham and Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
Excellent! Will make it again. Only used 2 lg sausage links, 2 c. ham, 1 potato,1 celery stalk,used 1 can of kidney beans,pinto beans, 8 oz. tom. sauce and 15 oz. stewed tom. Adjusted the rest of the seasonings to my taste and the water. Oh and threw in some cooked macaroni. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
First time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly, except I made it quicker by boiling the beans at lunch time, letting them soak until I got home, then combining the whole lot in the pressure cooker for about a 1/2 hour. It was PERFECT! Second time I made it I didn't have a ham bone, just ham, and I used a can of beans instead of dry... definitely not the same. Edible, but no where near the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was a unique tasting soup. I added some fine egg noodles to it to absorb some of the liquid, there was a lot of liquid. If I make this again, I will use crushed tomatoes, and less liquid (that was my fault). Thanks Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This is the best soup I have ever had. My husband and I are "hot heads" and enjoy anything with some spice. I have made this several times and there are always requests for more. Two Thumbs WAY up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Good flavor. Next time I will leave out the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Very yummy and spicy! I used hot italian sausage. I accidentally picked up a package of pre-cooked sausage but it was fine. I just sliced it up. With the tomato base, it reminded me of red beans and rice. My soup was watery, as other readers, so I added egg noodles at the end. I think if you cook with the lid off, it would get thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Fabulous way to use leftover ham from Christmas. I'm not sure what "ham hocks" are but I had spiral sliced ham leftovers that I cubed and added a beef summer sausage that I received as a gift from Hickory Farms instead of the Italian Sausage. This was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was very tasty! I cooked it on the stove for about 30-45 minutes and then put it in the crockpot for a few hours the next day to finish cooking. Served it with cornbread crumbled in bottom of bowl. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Very good. I made this to use up some leftover ham from Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it. We left out the potatoes and added only one can of beans. Very thick, meaty and flavorful. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
We had this for dinner tonight and found it excellent. It might make it to a football tailgate next fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States