Ham and Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great recipe and not so difficult to prepare. In order to make it even tastier I added a few slices of jamoniberico de bellota - aka iberico ham or patanegra- thinly cut. Because iberico has a strong and delicious flavor you do not need much, only 50 grams or 1.8 OZ for four people added once the soup is finished. You can buy your jamoniberico at BuyJamon.com BuyJamon.com buy jamoniberico online and have it delivered to your door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I did not use any sausage. I used the ham bone left over from an Easter spiral ham. I only used two cans of kidney beans, no additional salt and cooked about 9 hours on low in a slow cooker while I was at work. The house smelled great when I came home and it tasted just as good. I served it over some steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Did this in a slow cooker and it turned out great and the house smelled wonderful when i got home that night. By the way ......this is a soup not a stew so it should not be thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
great recipe! i accidentally dumped in too much hot sauce, so I opened a can of sweet corn and dumped it in as well. I used turkey sausage and some chopped-up ham I had in the freezer. yum! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a delicious winter soup! I didn't make it exactly as written, so here are my differences. I used one smoked pork shank (I'm not entirely sure how this differs from a ham hock). I also left out the potatoes out of preference and the parsley because I didn't have any. I used only two cans of beans, and one of stewed tomatoes (no salt added). Other variations: one tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, four cloves garlic, minced, and a diced onion. For water, I used two cans full. This was not enough to cover the pork, but enough to make a good soup. I added cooked shell macaroni at the end (about 1/3 lb), and a handful of fresh basil, since I had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Great way to use up the Christmas ham bone! I added some chopped onion and carrot, & used tomatoes with chilies to really make it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was very tasty! I cooked it on the stove for about 30-45 minutes and then put it in the crockpot for a few hours the next day to finish cooking. Served it with cornbread crumbled in bottom of bowl. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Very yummy and spicy! I used hot italian sausage. I accidentally picked up a package of pre-cooked sausage but it was fine. I just sliced it up. With the tomato base, it reminded me of red beans and rice. My soup was watery, as other readers, so I added egg noodles at the end. I think if you cook with the lid off, it would get thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
First time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly, except I made it quicker by boiling the beans at lunch time, letting them soak until I got home, then combining the whole lot in the pressure cooker for about a 1/2 hour. It was PERFECT! Second time I made it I didn't have a ham bone, just ham, and I used a can of beans instead of dry... definitely not the same. Edible, but no where near the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Fabulous way to use leftover ham from Christmas. I'm not sure what "ham hocks" are but I had spiral sliced ham leftovers that I cubed and added a beef summer sausage that I received as a gift from Hickory Farms instead of the Italian Sausage. This was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States