Ham and Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2004
First time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly, except I made it quicker by boiling the beans at lunch time, letting them soak until I got home, then combining the whole lot in the pressure cooker for about a 1/2 hour. It was PERFECT! Second time I made it I didn't have a ham bone, just ham, and I used a can of beans instead of dry... definitely not the same. Edible, but no where near the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
Excellent! Will make it again. Only used 2 lg sausage links, 2 c. ham, 1 potato,1 celery stalk,used 1 can of kidney beans,pinto beans, 8 oz. tom. sauce and 15 oz. stewed tom. Adjusted the rest of the seasonings to my taste and the water. Oh and threw in some cooked macaroni. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This is the best soup I have ever had. My husband and I are "hot heads" and enjoy anything with some spice. I have made this several times and there are always requests for more. Two Thumbs WAY up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Very good. I made this to use up some leftover ham from Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it. We left out the potatoes and added only one can of beans. Very thick, meaty and flavorful. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Very tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Fabulous way to use leftover ham from Christmas. I'm not sure what "ham hocks" are but I had spiral sliced ham leftovers that I cubed and added a beef summer sausage that I received as a gift from Hickory Farms instead of the Italian Sausage. This was SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Very yummy and spicy! I used hot italian sausage. I accidentally picked up a package of pre-cooked sausage but it was fine. I just sliced it up. With the tomato base, it reminded me of red beans and rice. My soup was watery, as other readers, so I added egg noodles at the end. I think if you cook with the lid off, it would get thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a delicious winter soup! I didn't make it exactly as written, so here are my differences. I used one smoked pork shank (I'm not entirely sure how this differs from a ham hock). I also left out the potatoes out of preference and the parsley because I didn't have any. I used only two cans of beans, and one of stewed tomatoes (no salt added). Other variations: one tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, four cloves garlic, minced, and a diced onion. For water, I used two cans full. This was not enough to cover the pork, but enough to make a good soup. I added cooked shell macaroni at the end (about 1/3 lb), and a handful of fresh basil, since I had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
great recipe! i accidentally dumped in too much hot sauce, so I opened a can of sweet corn and dumped it in as well. I used turkey sausage and some chopped-up ham I had in the freezer. yum! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Did this in a slow cooker and it turned out great and the house smelled wonderful when i got home that night. By the way ......this is a soup not a stew so it should not be thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States