Ham and Bean Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Good stuff! Makes a lot! Nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made this dish last night and absolutely loved it! I stuck very closely to the recipe and really like the ingenious idea of baking cornbread on top of the ham and beans. I noticed that some reviewers thought the cornbread was plain, but if you eat it together with the ham and beans underneath it, there is really nothing plain about that. I would definitely make this again. (NB: the changes I made were replacing 1 tbsp of butter with olive oil, replacing 3 tbsp of vegetable oil in the cornbread with applesauce, and not adding salt to the ham and beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was good and it made a whole lot of food! I still prefer ham and bean soup though over this bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hippiebug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very very good. I did use Marie Calendar corn bread mix instead of making my own, and I added a little bit more hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Point, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe, although I ended up with too much sauce and didn't have enough room for all the cornbread batter on top. I also had canned lentils instead of pinto beans and used more chili powder instead of hot sauce and it was very good. I will save this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipes. The only change that I made was to use 2 boxes of cornbread mix on the top instead of making it from scratch. I can hardly wait to have leftover ham so that I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
It was pretty good, but the cornbread topping lacked taste. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Good hearty rainy-day meal! I doubled the cornmeal topping and put the extra in a seaparate pan - just to have extra cornbread around. I also added Cajun seasoning to the cornmeal mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was excellent and easy. I didn't have the creamed corn, so I added regular corn to the beans and ham... it turned out well, though I'm looking forward to trying it again the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very yummy! It got rave reviews from both my husband and two year old son (who said "tis ish nummy mommy"). I made it with gluten free flour and it really hides that "different" taste that flour has. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelei Diaz Vitulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States