Ham and Bean Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Good stuff! Makes a lot! Nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made this dish last night and absolutely loved it! I stuck very closely to the recipe and really like the ingenious idea of baking cornbread on top of the ham and beans. I noticed that some reviewers thought the cornbread was plain, but if you eat it together with the ham and beans underneath it, there is really nothing plain about that. I would definitely make this again. (NB: the changes I made were replacing 1 tbsp of butter with olive oil, replacing 3 tbsp of vegetable oil in the cornbread with applesauce, and not adding salt to the ham and beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was good and it made a whole lot of food! I still prefer ham and bean soup though over this bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hippiebug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very very good. I did use Marie Calendar corn bread mix instead of making my own, and I added a little bit more hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Point, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was a great recipe, although I ended up with too much sauce and didn't have enough room for all the cornbread batter on top. I also had canned lentils instead of pinto beans and used more chili powder instead of hot sauce and it was very good. I will save this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipes. The only change that I made was to use 2 boxes of cornbread mix on the top instead of making it from scratch. I can hardly wait to have leftover ham so that I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
It was pretty good, but the cornbread topping lacked taste. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Good hearty rainy-day meal! I doubled the cornmeal topping and put the extra in a seaparate pan - just to have extra cornbread around. I also added Cajun seasoning to the cornmeal mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was excellent and easy. I didn't have the creamed corn, so I added regular corn to the beans and ham... it turned out well, though I'm looking forward to trying it again the right way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very yummy! It got rave reviews from both my husband and two year old son (who said "tis ish nummy mommy"). I made it with gluten free flour and it really hides that "different" taste that flour has. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelei Diaz Vitulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States