Ham and Asparagus Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a pretty basic recipe and as it stands is probably lucky to obtain a 3-star rating. I doctored it up a bit and it was pretty good in the end. Here is what I did: I followed the advice of another review and made a glaze using 3 Tbsp of brown sugar, 2 Tbsp of honey and 2 Tbsp of melted butter. I cubed a ham steak and baked the ham in the glaze for 20 or 30 minutes. While that is cooling, I sauteed about 1/2 cup each chopped onions and mushrooms, 3 cloves of garlic and 8 oz of chopped asparagus. I made the sauce using 1/3 cup butter and added about 2 Tbsp of flour (cook that for a few minutes to cook out the 'floury' taste) and then added 1.5 cups milk and 1/2 cup half-and-half, the cheese, a generous grating of fresh nutmeg (this is integral to any good white sauce), and salt and pepper to taste. Once the sauce was done, I tossed in the veggies and ham and combined everything with the hot cooked pasta. The end result was pretty good and definitely made more than 4 servings (more like 6).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and it was really good, I used evaporated milk (12oz) and then 2% milk instead of the cream and I added basil instead of the hot pepper, I also used bow tie pasta. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was great! Estimated cooking time is increased if you trim the Asparagus. Next time I will thicken with flour as the other's suggested and use milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Elkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Made this with a few changes and it came out great. I used prosciutto instead of regular ham, and used 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream instead of 2 cups of heavy cream. I had a whole pound of asparagus on hand so I used more than the 8 ounces called for. It also made more sense to use penne or ziti since they are the same size as the cut asparagus and easier to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I didn't change anything about this recipe and thought it was great! Definitely high in calories though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Delicious, although I used previous reviewers' tips to modify this recipe. I sauteed chopped onions & mushrooms (1/3 C. each) in butter & crushed garlic, then removed pan from heat and added the ham, 1/3 C. chopped artichoke hearts, and the cooked asparagus (cut into smaller chunks, btw). To cut fat I used 2% milk (with 1 1/2 Tbsp. flour to thicken), then stirred the sauce into the veggie-ham mix before adding the whole thing to the cooked pasta. Tip: Top each serving with ground black pepper & slivers of fresh parmesan-- YUM! PS-- Made more like 6-8 servings for us. Great for freezing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Very good. I used skim milk (thickened with flour) instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this recipe with 2 cups 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream and only used half the butter called for and it was still very rich. The sauce seemed a little thin as I cooked it so I added a tablespoon flour to thicken the sauce. My 12 year old loved this dish but my husband and I both thought it was just OK. Not bad but not great, a little bland I guess but a good way to use up leftover ham. Maybe next time I make this I'll add a pinch more cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very good, different way to use leftover ham. I added sauted mushrooms and onions in butter and extra garlic, gave it some more flavor. My husband loved it, so I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Not the healthiest of meals, but as an indulgence once in a while you can't go wrong with this recipe. Serve with some crusty bread so you don't miss any of the delicious sauce! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States