Ham and Asparagus Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this recipe with 2 cups 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream and only used half the butter called for and it was still very rich. The sauce seemed a little thin as I cooked it so I added a tablespoon flour to thicken the sauce. My 12 year old loved this dish but my husband and I both thought it was just OK. Not bad but not great, a little bland I guess but a good way to use up leftover ham. Maybe next time I make this I'll add a pinch more cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Very good, different way to use leftover ham. I added sauted mushrooms and onions in butter and extra garlic, gave it some more flavor. My husband loved it, so I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Not the healthiest of meals, but as an indulgence once in a while you can't go wrong with this recipe. Serve with some crusty bread so you don't miss any of the delicious sauce! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
excellent - i used pork chop instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
My hubby wants me to make this constantly. Very tasty, the only change is we prefer spaghettini noodles instead of fettucini, and we like to double the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILLIEBEE3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
As Rachael says, this was YUMMMM-O. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half and half and it was still very rich, but very, very good. Indulge yourself it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Excellent and very versatile ! A keeper for even the times when you need some "comfort food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Very, very, very good in our opinion! The best fettucini I've ever made at home...and it tasted like we were eating in a restaurant!! I didn't have any cream so I used whole milk with some flour for thickening. It worked fine in a pinch but think using the cream would even be better!! My husband doesn't usually even care for fettucini--but he LOVED this! Thanks for a fabulous recipe I'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I'm compromising with my husband on this one. I didn't care for it at all (WAY too rich, even using half and half instead of heavy cream), but my husband thought it good. If I make this again (doubtful), I'd definitely use regular milk, half the butter and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Awesome recipe!! Just be aware that it is VERY RICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States