Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great comfort food. I did use smoked turkey Kielbasa instead of the pork chops. This was so easy and quick to put together. We always have leftovers for the next day and it seems to taste even better. Thanks for a great recipe Kris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
bland, wish had more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious. The only changes I made was I added a stick of butter and I added paprika and crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim806

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
So! I thought I'd surprise my girlfriend and make a recipe from her childhood. I made this recipe, which is quite good, and then found out that what she remembers is Halupki, not Halushki. I guess I should listen better. One thing about this recipe that's a mystery to me is the "Ready in 50 minutes" statement. It took me two hours to cook. Perhaps I approached the recipe too cautiously by cooking with low temperatures... By that, I mean medium low with the cabbage and medium high with the onions and pork. Regarding the pork, I cut it up before cooking it. For those of you who say the recipe is bland, well, maybe that's the way it's supposed to be? I added some cumin (about a teaspoonful) and was liberal with the pepper. I was going to add green chiles but was warned not to. I still believe they would taste good in this. Of course, then it might not be Halushki. Two hours later and no one is hungry anymore because they've all been snacking. Dinner is ready for tomorrow though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Loved this! I cut back on the noodles and used chicken broth insted of water. Was even better left over for lunch. The flavors married so good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugger-mugger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Saw this on Food Network one night and it peaked my curiosity. I was pleasantly surprised. My kids even liked it! Great for a quick and healthy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Not what I expected. It wasn't terrible, but I expected more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I remember eating this at street fairs when I lived in Western PA and it being a spicy/hot dish. This recipe was not heavily spiced, but a great foundation to add your own touches. Next time I will add fresh garlic, cut the cabbage (as another reviewer recommended) to the size of the noodles, use hot sausage and include more spices such as cayenne and paprika. Thank you Kris for posting this recipe, brought back alot of good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Waaaaaay too much cabbage. This dish really lacks flavor too and it was a disappointment. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Could use a *little* more flavoring (might try mushrooms & using fresh minced garlic next time) but otherwise a simple, good Polish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States