Hal's Wine Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
OMG! Nothing could be easier! I cut the sugar down to a little less than 1/2 cup at my husband's request and added 1/2 tsp. salt. I almost devoured an entire jar dipping pretzels in it. REALLY good mustard. I won't be buying Dijon anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Add a little salt... this recipe is great to serve on corned beef & cabbage if you keep it a little runny (cook it for less than 8 minutes, till it looks "sauce" like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I made this for Christmas gifts once and now I have to make it again and again as I get requests from my family for it. It is awesome. I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This recipe was great! I used an Oatmeal Stout beer instead of wine and I'm very happy with how it turned out. It's tangy and creamy. I agree, a little salt was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for christmas gifts last year and everyone loved it! I have many people now expecting to get some of this again this year for christmas. My fiance's son also loved it, and he claims to hate any kind of mustard "except that one that Crystal makes at christmastime"! thanks hal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have made this mustard many times. Now friends are bringing their empty jars back and asking them to be filled. I use this in everything from potato salad to spreading on fish before grilling. It is also great just as a dip for honey wheat pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Really fantastic. I did add 1/4 tsp. of salt and next time I will halve the sugar. We love mustard and I have a feeling I'll be keeping this sauce around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe has had great reviews, but whew, this ended up tasting like the hot mustard they serve with egg rolls at Chinese restaurants, not even a hint of wine, just dry mustard. Went back and re-read the ingredient listing, and I didn’t mess anything up, followed the recipe to the letter. To try to salvage it, I added more vinegar, sugar, and wine, and still, all I could taste was the ground mustard. I think all of the ingredients are right, I just have to wonder if the proportions are accurate, ground mustard is pretty powerful stuff. Sorry, not sure what happened here, but this just didn’t work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States