Halloween Eye of Newt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The photo of this dish is the one I submitted. It was a hit at our neighborhood adult Halloween party. I added bloodshot eyes by dipping a knife in paprika and lightly touching the eyes. I found the recipe to be a little too dry and added a couple more tablespoons of mayo. I also colored the mayo yellow for the spot in the middle of the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are really adorable and fairly easy to make. Only suggestion is, to use BLUE food coloring, and not green. We put in 10+ drops of green and it didn't change color. My daughter said, "yellow eggs and blue food coloring will do the trick", and sure enough, it did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Great presentation on the party table. Did not use relish and used Miracle Whip instead of mayo plus some additional spices. Use black olives and green olives with red pimento. Tucked the small green olives inside the black olives - nice and spooky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Was really yummy, but we couldn't figure out how to get the blood shots and the paprika didn't look nearly as good as in the pic so we ended up mixing mayo and red food coloring and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were very good and a very cute concept for Halloween! Everyone loved them and they are so very easy. I used a toothpick dipped in liquid red food coloring to make the "veins" for the eyes. I also put some egg mix aside not tinted green to make the pupil. Thanks for sharing this cute idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My 12 year old daughter found this recipe and made these last night. We had to add about 4 times as much mayo as the recipe called for as it was very very dry following the directions. To make the "eyeballs" appear bloodshot, we lightly sprinkled the filled eggs with paprika before adding the olive slices. So far everyone has thought they were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Just a few tips for deviled eggs in general -- If you want the yolk of the egg to be positioned exactly in the center of the egg, turn all of your eggs you will be using on their side in their carton the night before in the refrigerator. This will center the yolk and when you boil them the yolk will stay there! If you want the yolk to retain it's natural yellow color instead of getting that icky green rim (although that wouldn't really apply for this recipe), have a bowl of ice cold water filled with more ice ready after you get done cooking the eggs and immediately transfer them to the cold water. The green rim occurs from a chemical reaction that happens when the yolk is exposed to oxygen. Rapidly cooling them in the water will stop the reaction from happening, yay! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was a great recipe.I had it at my daughters halloween party,and when the end of the party neared I noticed they were completey gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by harley
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was a hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOLLYPNJ
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious & looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States