Halloween Eye of Newt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I give this a 5 for the idea but only a 3 for the recipe. The idea is adorable, but the recipe looks like it would be dry. I used about half a cup of mayonnaise and about a tablespoon of Dijon mustard, plus a bit of salt. Just kind of keep adding mayo and mustard until it seems right. Or you could just use your regular deviled egg recipe. Also, to get the filling back into the eggs looking nice, just scoop it into a Ziploc bag, snip off corner, and pipe the filling back into the eggs. It looks very neat that way. My eyes were a big hit and I'll make them every year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by JVarriano
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
For a Halloween eye pleaser, this was great! It added a well liked party food to the table and also gave it some spooky artistic flair! We used fresh chopped dill pickles and no mustard for our own tastes. I coupled this dish with some lady finger cookies and a cauliflower brain holding guacamole mixed with black beans. All of my guests had fun seeing my regular party food mixed with something a little more gruesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVarriano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great idea! I used dill pickle relish instead. I put all of my egg mixture in a zip loc bag and cut the very tip of a corner of the zip loc off to squeeze into the eggs. It came out looking like green worms! So instead of eyeballs, my eggs looked like little cups of green worms. It was super easy! I didn't use the olives or the red food coloring, which saved me time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Totally, totally adorable! I did modify the recipe a little, but not a lot. I added some horseradish because I like my deviled eggs with a little kick. These definitely needed some "bloodshot" though, so I did the toothpick dipped in red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Fun and easy... The color's a bit off, I used ~6 drops of green food coloring. To get blood-shot eyes, dip a sharp knife tip into red food coloring. Lightly slit the egg white in little jagged lines. If you hold the slit slightly open, the food dye will seep in and give a more authentic, fine color. Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Per suggestion of others, I also used blue food coloring instead of green. I did mix mayonnaise and red food coloring for the creepy veins that worked great. I held out a little of the yellow egg mixture for a little dot inside the olive, spicy mustard would work as well. These are very fun to make. I am sure they will go over well tonight for our Halloween party. I made an "Eyes of Newt" place card, to add a festive flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was the first time I made the halloween deviled eggs. It was really fun!! I don't really measure my ingredients, but I use all of these and some horseradish. I made the yolk green by adding blue food coloring to the yellow yolk mixture, and I made the eyes look bloodshot by using a toothpick dipped in red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have been making these for so many years now I've lost count. From pre-school to H.S. parties they are a continuous hit. Yes the mayo does have to be bumped up for sure since you want your filling creamy. For the crazy crowd or adult parties reserve some of the yolk mixture and tint it RED, then add 1/2- 1 t cayenne for zip! and you have angry eyes. For effect use a piping bag for filling the egg whites. Even non egg eaters seem to like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Although your "recipe" is nearly identical to mine (sans the green food coloring) I have to offer 5 stars for creativity. Would do more stars if I could. My GK's love Gma's deviled eggs and this is a fantastic idea. I'll be at their house for halloween and I cannot wait to do this for them...and yeah, for me, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are really adorable and fairly easy to make. Only suggestion is, to use BLUE food coloring, and not green. We put in 10+ drops of green and it didn't change color. My daughter said, "yellow eggs and blue food coloring will do the trick", and sure enough, it did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States