Halloween Eye of Newt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was the first time I made the halloween deviled eggs. It was really fun!! I don't really measure my ingredients, but I use all of these and some horseradish. I made the yolk green by adding blue food coloring to the yellow yolk mixture, and I made the eyes look bloodshot by using a toothpick dipped in red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I have been making these for so many years now I've lost count. From pre-school to H.S. parties they are a continuous hit. Yes the mayo does have to be bumped up for sure since you want your filling creamy. For the crazy crowd or adult parties reserve some of the yolk mixture and tint it RED, then add 1/2- 1 t cayenne for zip! and you have angry eyes. For effect use a piping bag for filling the egg whites. Even non egg eaters seem to like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Although your "recipe" is nearly identical to mine (sans the green food coloring) I have to offer 5 stars for creativity. Would do more stars if I could. My GK's love Gma's deviled eggs and this is a fantastic idea. I'll be at their house for halloween and I cannot wait to do this for them...and yeah, for me, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are really adorable and fairly easy to make. Only suggestion is, to use BLUE food coloring, and not green. We put in 10+ drops of green and it didn't change color. My daughter said, "yellow eggs and blue food coloring will do the trick", and sure enough, it did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
used a heck of a loy more mayo and pickle...plis added garlic and onion powders. I added my olive slices to the top of each one, then put a dab of spicy mustard for the pupil. Everyone at work loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Colorado Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
LOVED this recipe and my kids really enjoyed decorating - I didn't have any toothpicks so the 'blood veins' didn't come out quite right but overall very fun and delicious! (Our picture is the one on the bat shaped plate at the top.) Great family time! The kids didn't like the black olives, so I let them decorate with colored icing - it added a bit of sweetness to the eggs (to much for me) but the kids loved it. =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colorado Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Super cute and easy for our Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Everyone loved the spooky eye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiOz0708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was easy and fun to make! Although I had to add about 4 T of mayo to get it what I feel is the proper consistency. I did not use the green food coloring and they still looked like eyeballs. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
They looked so great my nieces didn't want to eat them because they looked to scary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States