Halloween Eye of Newt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by frnprincesse
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I'd like to give this a 4.5, but it won't let me. I took other people's suggestions and used blue food coloring to mix with the egg yolks, but then I went back and added green for a darker color. I also used mayo mixed with red food coloring for the bloodshot eyes. Right now, my picture is the one posted above. They were fairly simple to make, though, and I'm sure they'll be a hit at the party I'm attending tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris H
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Made these for a Halloween party, they turned out great! I used sliced olives and put pimento in the center for "pupils"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
While I made this and another deviled egg as a last minute add to my dinner party. They were a huge it and soo laughable too. My family and my guest really loved them. And these were really good and the flavor was pretty good with pickle relish in them. Not something I would normally put in deviled eggs. But the flavor was really nice. Thanks. I can see me making these again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by AliciaElder
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
AWESOME recipe. For those of you who are wondering too...I used red food coloring and a toothpick to do the red on the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Just a few tips for deviled eggs in general -- If you want the yolk of the egg to be positioned exactly in the center of the egg, turn all of your eggs you will be using on their side in their carton the night before in the refrigerator. This will center the yolk and when you boil them the yolk will stay there! If you want the yolk to retain it's natural yellow color instead of getting that icky green rim (although that wouldn't really apply for this recipe), have a bowl of ice cold water filled with more ice ready after you get done cooking the eggs and immediately transfer them to the cold water. The green rim occurs from a chemical reaction that happens when the yolk is exposed to oxygen. Rapidly cooling them in the water will stop the reaction from happening, yay! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was another fun Halloween recipe to make! I added sqiggly lines using ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I made these last Halloween and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is so fun to make! and eat! People enjoyed them at a halloween party I brought them to and they were fairly simple to make. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
A Halloween hit! Too cute and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WonderWoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
What a great idea. I came across this recipe after the holidays. Next Christmas, I'm going to make red and green centered deviled eggs! Halloween, maybe orange. Can do this coloring thing for all the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States