Halloween Eye of Newt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These are delicious! I couldn't get the "look" of them (no tools for it), but they taste frightfully terrific! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I didn't think that these eggs were any better than my normal recipe. However, the idea of making them into eyes was a shot of genious! I used food coloring paste rather then paprika for the blood part. They looked great! What a fun addition to our Halloween tablescape. Thanks for sharing your creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Hard to eat cuz they are so spooky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
These were very good and a hit at a Halloween party, I just added more mayo as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frnprincesse
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I'd like to give this a 4.5, but it won't let me. I took other people's suggestions and used blue food coloring to mix with the egg yolks, but then I went back and added green for a darker color. I also used mayo mixed with red food coloring for the bloodshot eyes. Right now, my picture is the one posted above. They were fairly simple to make, though, and I'm sure they'll be a hit at the party I'm attending tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris H
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Made these for a Halloween party, they turned out great! I used sliced olives and put pimento in the center for "pupils"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
While I made this and another deviled egg as a last minute add to my dinner party. They were a huge it and soo laughable too. My family and my guest really loved them. And these were really good and the flavor was pretty good with pickle relish in them. Not something I would normally put in deviled eggs. But the flavor was really nice. Thanks. I can see me making these again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by AliciaElder
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
AWESOME recipe. For those of you who are wondering too...I used red food coloring and a toothpick to do the red on the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Just a few tips for deviled eggs in general -- If you want the yolk of the egg to be positioned exactly in the center of the egg, turn all of your eggs you will be using on their side in their carton the night before in the refrigerator. This will center the yolk and when you boil them the yolk will stay there! If you want the yolk to retain it's natural yellow color instead of getting that icky green rim (although that wouldn't really apply for this recipe), have a bowl of ice cold water filled with more ice ready after you get done cooking the eggs and immediately transfer them to the cold water. The green rim occurs from a chemical reaction that happens when the yolk is exposed to oxygen. Rapidly cooling them in the water will stop the reaction from happening, yay! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy-ar-YUM :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was another fun Halloween recipe to make! I added sqiggly lines using ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States