Halloween Eye of Newt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is now my go to recipe for halloween. The first time I made it I followed the recipe very closely and everyone loved it. The lay few times I've added a purple less mayo and less relish, the flavor it still strong just not as fatty or acidic. The black olives for the eyes make the prefect spooky touch for a Halloween party. Highly recommend this recipe, you're guests will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrosn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
It was good, not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was a hit at our Halloween party. I did have to make some slight modifications. Doubled the mayo, mustard and relish and ran it through a mixer to make it less thick in order to use a decorator. I also used dill relish instead of sweet per our preference. The green food coloring worked perfect for this. Some were even hesitant to eat not knowing what the "green stuff" was. Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunny64
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Tried this recipe. Made a few changes (as some have suggested); added a little sour cream to cream better, Dijon mustard, no vinegar and mixed w/ electric mixer, 3 drops of tabasco sauce (for flavor) and put 4 drops of the blue food coloring in the mix, then put into sandwich bag and made a hole to fill the whites. I sprinkled paprika on the egg whites prior to filling them, and we don't care for black olives so I used pimento stuffed green olives. See picture attached. They taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made these using my own deviled egg recipe - miracle whip and a tsp of dijon mustard. I use colour pastes for cake decorating and they worked perfect here because they are concentrate and not a liquid. Green for the yolk and red for the veins. I used a toothpick for the veins. The only issue I had was with the black olives. This was a children's party. Most of the kids just picked the olives off, but some wouldn't touch them because of it. I would love to hear some suggestions for a substitute, can't think of anything off hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made these eggs for last year's Halloween party and they were a big hit. I will be making these again for my Halloween party next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enlisted1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made these for Halloween Yesterday and they was a big hit. Everyone just loved the green color and the kids went crazy over them. Thanks ANGELA O. for this great ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Overall-yummy and attractive; however, I had to add more mustard, mayo, and relish to get the right consistency for the egg yoke. Thank you for the great Halloween party idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris Simpler
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Didn't follow the recipe exactly, so 5-stars for inspiration and for the collective advice in other reviews. My changes/notes: * I used green food coloring for the filling and it worked pretty well. I pretty much used my own deviled egg recipe (no relish, more mayo), and used the 'plastic bag' filling approach. * I made the red 'blood' from a little bit of mayo and red food coloring. It started more red (less pink), so I'll wait until I'm closer to presentation before adding, next year. * Started with sliced olives and didn't love the look. Moved to half olives for a rounder pupil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Simpler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I used my own deviled egg recipe. I used the black olives as suggested, but put a piece of chopped pimento for the pupil. I don't own a deviled egg holder so I put them in a small muffin pan and used some fake blood to decorate the pan - it looks perfectly gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States