Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made these for Halloween and my family loved them. Not only did they look fun, but they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Five stars for presentation! I used my own meatloaf recipe and halved the "blood" sauce. Also used cooked asparagus for tails, almond slivers for ears, and tiny bits of raisin for the eyes. Hubby suggested adding a cooked spaghetti noodle to the cheese inside to look like guts. ;D Great Halloween dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very cute! Were perfect for our halloween party. The cheesy centers were a nice extra touch. Tasted good with extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I had a hard time getting the ears on right, but that's just me. Taste wise it was fine, but my family is more accustomed to my meatloaf, which never has tomato, and I don't used packaged seasonings. I think I'll make this again next year, but I might do it spaghetti and meatballs style (spaghetti can either be worms or the "rats nest" cuz my creativeness-less self could not think of something to fit it to serve w/ so I tossed it ontop of some shoestring hashbrowns and said they were in a rats nest lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
The rats were gory but great. A big hit with the kids. I did substitute baked pumpkin seeds for the carrots when making the ears. It is helpful to make an indention in the "rat" where you want to place the eyeballs before baking. A few "eyes" slid off but that just added to the gory look of the rats. This recipe was simple and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peach
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Made these Halloween night for guests. I want you all to know that I followed the recipe as it was written and it was wonderful! It made 10 rats. I was afraid that the tails would burn but they did great. I was also concerned that the sauce would be way too sweet. And it is sweet I mean there is a whole cup of sugar in it. BUT, it was wonderful! A couple of the rats had the cheese come out while cooking but it did not effect the flavor. I will be using this recipe again because it made a very moist meatloaf. Would make great meatballs for spaghetti! Oh, I did attach the eyes and the ears before baking. The ears did fine but the eyes were not as vibrent a green as they would have been had I added them after they came out the oven. I served them with ghost mashed potoatoes and ectoplasm balls (green pea's) on the side. It was a big it and they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by GreedyGretchen
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this was awesome.. really cute and tasty. my boys loved it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreedyGretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My rats actually came out cute instead of scary, lol! I used raw carrots for the ears, red bell peppers for the eyes and I felt like it needed a nose so I stuck in a piece of cheese. I tossed spaghetti in some sauce and served my rats over it. I did have slight leakage of the cheese like other reviewers but this was definitely yummy! Also I didn't put too much sauce on my rats before baking and heated up leftover sauce and put it over before serving. I saved one strand of cooked spaghetti per rat and draped it over the finished rats as the tail. Thanks for the great idea and recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was definitely easy and creepy!!! We didn't make any changes to the recipe and it turned out great! The sauce is pretty sweet, but still tastes good! Happy Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was so much fun to make and serve! I used limp asparagus spears for the tails and almond slivers for the ears. The cheese did bubble through as it baked, however it simply added to the gore of the dish. Great Halloween fun! Thank you for this recipe Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States