Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Made these for an adult party and they were a hit! Easy to make but great presentation. We used capers for the eyes, almond slices for ears, asparagus stalk for tail and stuffed some corn & peas in the cheese so guts oozed out when cut. We used a different sauce (chunky tomato, olive, basil) and served it with maggots (orzo pasta), bread sticks shaped like bones, string cheese fingers, and bloody eye deviled eggs. Great idea - will do it again. It was funny to see my friends trying to outdo each other on how to make this dinner grosser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is a five star presentation and it is REALLY good. It turns out that my family just prefers a chunkier more vegetable prominent meatloaf...I don't know if it will look the same, but I will try adding carrots and more onions next time. That said, this immediately hit my recipe box after I made it. UPDATE: For health reasons this year we had to switch to a different recipe. I was really worried because we used the turkey veggie meatloaf cup recipe on this site which is PACKED with zucchini so I was positive that it would not look the same--but it turned out great! I used a premade marinara sauce with worcestershire sauce to cut down on the sugar. It baked on really well and you couldn't even see the zucchini. I put this update so that others will see that this recipe can be played with and not lose its intergrity. I left my stars the same from last year when I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Gosh these were a hit! I kind of used my own meatloaf, not even sure whatall I put in there, but I used almond slivers for the ears, and I cooked these the day before, so today for our party, I cooked some noodles and drained and added black food coloring and used these for tails. Just laid the rats on top of a tail. I didnt even do eyes, just ran out of time, but they were still cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I'm rating the idea, not the recipe. These turned out so cute! Something I would have never thought of doing. This will definately be a Halloween tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy beth
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I didn't actually use the recipe, just the overall idea and cooking directions. My rats turned out great! They were so gross sitting on a pile of spaghetti. I put spaghetti sauce on them for the bloody effect. This was a fun, easy recipe. Kids would really love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great Halloween idea for the grandsons! I am rating this on presentation only because I used my own meatloaf recipe (which is almost the same, except no cube of cheese) I did however make the sauce to spoon over top of the rats as blood. I used sliced water chestnuts for ears and pieces of black olive for the nose, & small early peas for the eyes. And I cooked the spaghetti first and set aside to cool, then added all of the embellishments after baking the rats (eyes, ears, nose, tails) I used a tiny Pamphered Chef paring knife to cut slits and holes as needed... Worked great! Served with a side of BRAINS (Mac and cheese with lots of glommy cheese stirred in and tinted with Wilton red gel) A memorable meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spirited Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made these for my annual Halloween-themed dinner last night. These were so much fun and awesomely disgusting! Just after I'd pulled these out of the oven, my husband came over to tell me something and stopped short when he saw these. His laughing/surprised/disgusted expression was hilarious :) We both really enjoyed these, they tasted great and the presentation was so creepy! I used linguine for tails instead of spaghetti and I thought they worked much better than spaghetti would have. They looked more like real tails for the size of the body and they cooked all the way through. We did think the rats were a little over done after 45 min covered and 20 min uncovered, and my rats were pretty big. I would probably cut down a little on cooking time next time, but otherwise great recipe!! Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Halloween roadkill at its finest! Great recipe. Eat it on a stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Photo by Lady Jynx
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
What a FUN and delicious meal!!! My tail did not burn, I just made sure it was covered with the sauce while baking! I will be making these every year at Halloween time, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Jynx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is very good and has become a new family tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfornelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States