Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My 7 year old was a little grossed out by these but my 3 year old son and my husband loved them. The sauce was a litle sweet for me though. I think next time I won't add as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These were a hit on Halloween! Everyone loved the look and the flavor. Yummmy! I used a noodle and cheese in each rat like suggested in another comment. And also froze the cheese cubes 15 minutes before using them. I also noticed that the onion, though adding flavor, breaks the meat apart. Perhaps chopping the onion very fine in a food processor would help. This would cut down on the cheese ooze during cooking. This is our new Halloween meat dish from here on out. Thank u so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
It was fun to make, but I ruined it by cooking it on a weird platform with tin foil. I'll try it again with the proper cooking utensils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were made as appetizers so were 1/4 cup size, then renamed "Baked Mice". Skewers were used for tails to facilitate "finger food". The cheese did melt out so was a waste (maybe 'cause they were smaller?) and used dried raisins for ears, didn't bother with the eyes. Great hit, much fun at the Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I hosted a dinner for friends the night before Halloween and made these and they were a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly and they were very tasty and super easy. I posted pics of them on facebook and have had people emailing me left and right wanting the recipe. Great idea, thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Alot of fun and yumm too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Kimball Fitzgerald
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I just used jar spaghetti sauce and used a piece of string cheese for the "guts". Used pieces of black olives for eyes because that's what I had on-hand. Was a fun Halloween meal, served on top of Tape Worms (linguine) with Dusty Bones (breadsticks w/ parmessan) and Graveyard Grass (salads). Very funny idea. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kimball Fitzgerald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Love the rat idea...the kids said..."cool, dead rat for dinner!" It was such a hit...they wanted me to take photos. Thanks for the great idea. My tweaks included no processed seasoning mix..used my own seasonings, and no cheese! The kids look forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Winkler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was great! I did not put faces or tails on the rats, but still got the idea, my kids loved it. I dont normally like meatloaf, but the sauce made this super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODDESDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
5 stars for the presentation alone! Fantastic idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States