Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These were made as appetizers so were 1/4 cup size, then renamed "Baked Mice". Skewers were used for tails to facilitate "finger food". The cheese did melt out so was a waste (maybe 'cause they were smaller?) and used dried raisins for ears, didn't bother with the eyes. Great hit, much fun at the Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I hosted a dinner for friends the night before Halloween and made these and they were a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly and they were very tasty and super easy. I posted pics of them on facebook and have had people emailing me left and right wanting the recipe. Great idea, thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Alot of fun and yumm too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Kimball Fitzgerald
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I just used jar spaghetti sauce and used a piece of string cheese for the "guts". Used pieces of black olives for eyes because that's what I had on-hand. Was a fun Halloween meal, served on top of Tape Worms (linguine) with Dusty Bones (breadsticks w/ parmessan) and Graveyard Grass (salads). Very funny idea. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kimball Fitzgerald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Love the rat idea...the kids said..."cool, dead rat for dinner!" It was such a hit...they wanted me to take photos. Thanks for the great idea. My tweaks included no processed seasoning mix..used my own seasonings, and no cheese! The kids look forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Winkler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was great! I did not put faces or tails on the rats, but still got the idea, my kids loved it. I dont normally like meatloaf, but the sauce made this super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODDESDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
5 stars for the presentation alone! Fantastic idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Made these for an adult party and they were a hit! Easy to make but great presentation. We used capers for the eyes, almond slices for ears, asparagus stalk for tail and stuffed some corn & peas in the cheese so guts oozed out when cut. We used a different sauce (chunky tomato, olive, basil) and served it with maggots (orzo pasta), bread sticks shaped like bones, string cheese fingers, and bloody eye deviled eggs. Great idea - will do it again. It was funny to see my friends trying to outdo each other on how to make this dinner grosser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is a five star presentation and it is REALLY good. It turns out that my family just prefers a chunkier more vegetable prominent meatloaf...I don't know if it will look the same, but I will try adding carrots and more onions next time. That said, this immediately hit my recipe box after I made it. UPDATE: For health reasons this year we had to switch to a different recipe. I was really worried because we used the turkey veggie meatloaf cup recipe on this site which is PACKED with zucchini so I was positive that it would not look the same--but it turned out great! I used a premade marinara sauce with worcestershire sauce to cut down on the sugar. It baked on really well and you couldn't even see the zucchini. I put this update so that others will see that this recipe can be played with and not lose its intergrity. I left my stars the same from last year when I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Gosh these were a hit! I kind of used my own meatloaf, not even sure whatall I put in there, but I used almond slivers for the ears, and I cooked these the day before, so today for our party, I cooked some noodles and drained and added black food coloring and used these for tails. Just laid the rats on top of a tail. I didnt even do eyes, just ran out of time, but they were still cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States