Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was so much fun to make and serve! I used limp asparagus spears for the tails and almond slivers for the ears. The cheese did bubble through as it baked, however it simply added to the gore of the dish. Great Halloween fun! Thank you for this recipe Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My kids adored these! They were just perfect for an October dinner. We used raisens for eyes because we didn't have peas. Will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were easy to make and the kids loved them! We don't like tomato sauce, so I skipped that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. I made this for a Halloween potluck and everyone thought it was the best! One of my co-workers actually asked me for the recipe. One suggestion I have is to make sure the cheese square you use is small. Otherwise the cheese melts out during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jules
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
soooo good and creepy. we don't have any kids in the house so it was fun to celebrate Halloween with food. i made cauliflower on the side for bloody brains and used the extra sauce from the baking dish. i also used g.turkey instead of beef. only thing we will do next time is smaller portions. wayyyy tooo much food. but it was delicious :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! My kids loved them. First they named them and introduced them to each other. Then they gobbled them down. My husband didn't name his, but enjoyed the meal just as much. I made the recipe exactly as written, except I didn't have cubed cheese on hand. So I made little balls of shredded cheddar cheese to put inside. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
My kids loved it! The only thing I changed was that I added pureed spinach to the meat mixture in order to sneak vegetables into my kids (the red sauce hid it well). It made way more sauce than I needed, but that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very cute idea, I ended up with some problems, though; the spaghetti tails burned (maybe not enough sauce to keep them moist? I used a diffent sauce). My "guts" oozed out while baking on most of the rats, and I couldn't get the pea eyes on. I suggest pre-planning and creating little pockets for later eye placement and making sure the meat is wrapped tightly around the cheese. I gave this four stars because of the presentation; great holiday idea, although honestly I used my own meatloaf recipe and sauce, so my rating isn't based on flavor. This made about 9 palm sized rats for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-78 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States