Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Peach
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Made these Halloween night for guests. I want you all to know that I followed the recipe as it was written and it was wonderful! It made 10 rats. I was afraid that the tails would burn but they did great. I was also concerned that the sauce would be way too sweet. And it is sweet I mean there is a whole cup of sugar in it. BUT, it was wonderful! A couple of the rats had the cheese come out while cooking but it did not effect the flavor. I will be using this recipe again because it made a very moist meatloaf. Would make great meatballs for spaghetti! Oh, I did attach the eyes and the ears before baking. The ears did fine but the eyes were not as vibrent a green as they would have been had I added them after they came out the oven. I served them with ghost mashed potoatoes and ectoplasm balls (green pea's) on the side. It was a big it and they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by GreedyGretchen
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this was awesome.. really cute and tasty. my boys loved it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreedyGretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My rats actually came out cute instead of scary, lol! I used raw carrots for the ears, red bell peppers for the eyes and I felt like it needed a nose so I stuck in a piece of cheese. I tossed spaghetti in some sauce and served my rats over it. I did have slight leakage of the cheese like other reviewers but this was definitely yummy! Also I didn't put too much sauce on my rats before baking and heated up leftover sauce and put it over before serving. I saved one strand of cooked spaghetti per rat and draped it over the finished rats as the tail. Thanks for the great idea and recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was definitely easy and creepy!!! We didn't make any changes to the recipe and it turned out great! The sauce is pretty sweet, but still tastes good! Happy Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was so much fun to make and serve! I used limp asparagus spears for the tails and almond slivers for the ears. The cheese did bubble through as it baked, however it simply added to the gore of the dish. Great Halloween fun! Thank you for this recipe Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My kids adored these! They were just perfect for an October dinner. We used raisens for eyes because we didn't have peas. Will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were easy to make and the kids loved them! We don't like tomato sauce, so I skipped that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. I made this for a Halloween potluck and everyone thought it was the best! One of my co-workers actually asked me for the recipe. One suggestion I have is to make sure the cheese square you use is small. Otherwise the cheese melts out during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jules
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
soooo good and creepy. we don't have any kids in the house so it was fun to celebrate Halloween with food. i made cauliflower on the side for bloody brains and used the extra sauce from the baking dish. i also used g.turkey instead of beef. only thing we will do next time is smaller portions. wayyyy tooo much food. but it was delicious :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! My kids loved them. First they named them and introduced them to each other. Then they gobbled them down. My husband didn't name his, but enjoyed the meal just as much. I made the recipe exactly as written, except I didn't have cubed cheese on hand. So I made little balls of shredded cheddar cheese to put inside. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States