Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by 4BIDNLOVE
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Good Recipe! The only changes I made were: I used 1 cheese slice per rat, I folded the slice until it wouldn't fold anymore. For the whiskers I used French Fried Onions and for the ears I used the corners of Doritos. Tip: Make sure the seam is sealed at the bottom and not at the top. I did half and half thinking I would save time and wound up with split top rats. Very fun to make and the gross factor sets it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Fun recipe and in the end you know its going to taste good :). Used my own meatloaf recipe but My cheese didn't melt as some said and oozing out on the plate as the guests were cutting into them got some laughs. I used red food dye to color some cauliflower for a "brain side" and rice for a nice serving of "maggots"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this idea. My mom always made a red gravy with her meatloaf, which works really well with this recipe. Use the drippings add a few table spoons of ketchup, flour and milk to desired consisitantcy, then salt and pepper to taste. I spooned out a little gravy under each "rat" for a bloody presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Try freezing your cheese cubes a little before stuffing the rats. It cuts down on leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is such a cute idea! I tried it for last Halloween, for a potluck at my work, where we had a contest for the best Halloween foods. I won with this recipe! I didn't use the peas for the eyes, and I used sliced almonds for the ears, which I added after the baking was finished. The uncooked spaghetti tails worked really well; they cooked enough to be limp, but didn't burn. And the recipe itself was delicious-- all the mice were completely gone before the potluck was over. Thank you for a wonderful recipe-- I'm using it again next year, for a party at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made these for Halloween and my family loved them. Not only did they look fun, but they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Five stars for presentation! I used my own meatloaf recipe and halved the "blood" sauce. Also used cooked asparagus for tails, almond slivers for ears, and tiny bits of raisin for the eyes. Hubby suggested adding a cooked spaghetti noodle to the cheese inside to look like guts. ;D Great Halloween dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very cute! Were perfect for our halloween party. The cheesy centers were a nice extra touch. Tasted good with extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I had a hard time getting the ears on right, but that's just me. Taste wise it was fine, but my family is more accustomed to my meatloaf, which never has tomato, and I don't used packaged seasonings. I think I'll make this again next year, but I might do it spaghetti and meatballs style (spaghetti can either be worms or the "rats nest" cuz my creativeness-less self could not think of something to fit it to serve w/ so I tossed it ontop of some shoestring hashbrowns and said they were in a rats nest lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
The rats were gory but great. A big hit with the kids. I did substitute baked pumpkin seeds for the carrots when making the ears. It is helpful to make an indention in the "rat" where you want to place the eyeballs before baking. A few "eyes" slid off but that just added to the gory look of the rats. This recipe was simple and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States