Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great Halloween idea for the grandsons! I am rating this on presentation only because I used my own meatloaf recipe (which is almost the same, except no cube of cheese) I did however make the sauce to spoon over top of the rats as blood. I used sliced water chestnuts for ears and pieces of black olive for the nose, & small early peas for the eyes. And I cooked the spaghetti first and set aside to cool, then added all of the embellishments after baking the rats (eyes, ears, nose, tails) I used a tiny Pamphered Chef paring knife to cut slits and holes as needed... Worked great! Served with a side of BRAINS (Mac and cheese with lots of glommy cheese stirred in and tinted with Wilton red gel) A memorable meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spirited Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made these for my annual Halloween-themed dinner last night. These were so much fun and awesomely disgusting! Just after I'd pulled these out of the oven, my husband came over to tell me something and stopped short when he saw these. His laughing/surprised/disgusted expression was hilarious :) We both really enjoyed these, they tasted great and the presentation was so creepy! I used linguine for tails instead of spaghetti and I thought they worked much better than spaghetti would have. They looked more like real tails for the size of the body and they cooked all the way through. We did think the rats were a little over done after 45 min covered and 20 min uncovered, and my rats were pretty big. I would probably cut down a little on cooking time next time, but otherwise great recipe!! Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spirited Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Halloween roadkill at its finest! Great recipe. Eat it on a stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judd Jugmonger
Photo by Lady Jynx
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
What a FUN and delicious meal!!! My tail did not burn, I just made sure it was covered with the sauce while baking! I will be making these every year at Halloween time, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Jynx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is very good and has become a new family tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfornelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4BIDNLOVE
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Good Recipe! The only changes I made were: I used 1 cheese slice per rat, I folded the slice until it wouldn't fold anymore. For the whiskers I used French Fried Onions and for the ears I used the corners of Doritos. Tip: Make sure the seam is sealed at the bottom and not at the top. I did half and half thinking I would save time and wound up with split top rats. Very fun to make and the gross factor sets it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Fun recipe and in the end you know its going to taste good :). Used my own meatloaf recipe but My cheese didn't melt as some said and oozing out on the plate as the guests were cutting into them got some laughs. I used red food dye to color some cauliflower for a "brain side" and rice for a nice serving of "maggots"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this idea. My mom always made a red gravy with her meatloaf, which works really well with this recipe. Use the drippings add a few table spoons of ketchup, flour and milk to desired consisitantcy, then salt and pepper to taste. I spooned out a little gravy under each "rat" for a bloody presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Try freezing your cheese cubes a little before stuffing the rats. It cuts down on leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is such a cute idea! I tried it for last Halloween, for a potluck at my work, where we had a contest for the best Halloween foods. I won with this recipe! I didn't use the peas for the eyes, and I used sliced almonds for the ears, which I added after the baking was finished. The uncooked spaghetti tails worked really well; they cooked enough to be limp, but didn't burn. And the recipe itself was delicious-- all the mice were completely gone before the potluck was over. Thank you for a wonderful recipe-- I'm using it again next year, for a party at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States