Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Tasty and fun. Love the idea of cheese in the middle. My 5 year old, however, would NOT eat it. Freaked him out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by irene91867
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I just follow directions from regular meatloft preparation and then I divided the portions onto little rats. I used black olives halves for eyes, carrots for ears and spaguetti for tail and mustache. I served over white rice and lettuce and tomatoes on the side. Super fun to Halloween dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irene91867

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swingqueen80
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Made these using canned meatloaf sauce to save time, and they came out fine. I also put them on sticks, so I think the bigger the rat the more juicy they were. Making them too small made them prone to dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I'm giving it 5 stars for the great and fun idea, but changed it so much, it doesn't really resemble the original recipe. Here's what I did: We don't eat beef so I used a salmon loaf recipe, which made the rat (one giant one) a weird "hairless" looking pink color. Then, since we love our pet rats and would never want to see them bloody, I set him on a bed of sauteed broccoli slaw (garlic and olive oil) so it would look like "Ratty" was sitting in the grass. I served green dill sauce on the side. I have to say, he was still pretty creepy. I left out the cheese because I didn't think it would work with the salmon. Since we really do like gruesome things on Halloween, the following year, I used the same salmon loaf recipe but shaped it in the form of a human head. I did use (homemade) tomato sauce, and used half of a steamed cauliflower for a semi-exposed brain. I made 2 pop-eyes out of radishes with a green olive slices for pupils. I then served it with a knife jutting out of it on a platter of shredded, roasted black kale . My zombie niece and nephew walked into the kitchen, to have a trick-or-treating dinner break, and one of them shreiked (I think it was my 9-year-old nephew) and they both fell on the floor laughing. That reaction made the whole load of work that went into it well worth it! I'm thinking this year maybe a mummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were a lot of fun, and teasted good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carolk
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Loved making these. They were so much fun and instead of carrot ears I cut a pepperoni slice in half, bend them in half a little, and put them in the meatloaf. everybody loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
So realistic that my mother wouldn't eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianne Torres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This recipe is so cool. To me it was meatloaf turned fun! I get a weird look for them but everybody likes them after all,as I knew they would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Fun and easy to make. Increase the prep time though. It took awhile to "decorate" them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Niven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tooele, Utah, USA
Living In: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
A huge hit at our halloween party. Lots of assembly work, but the presentation is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States