Halloween Bloody Baked Rats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SarahStumphf
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Alot of fun, although I froze the cheese cubes, they still seeped out. Tasty and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
fun to make, got lots of EEWWWWW comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe was awesome! Everyone loved it when I made it for a party. I even made it in a regular loaf pan for dinner and it came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I fixed these for company for dinner Sunday night and thought I'd do Halloween because they won't be here on the day. The "rats" were very good. Although, either the cook time or the temperature, at least for this altitude, was bit off. Also, I think there was a bit too much sugar, maybe 3/4 instead of full cup, and I think next time I'll use brown sugar rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I made the rat body the same. Used pasta and sauce as the base, a red licorice string as the tail and whiskers, raisins as the ears and craisins as the eyes. Delicious and so much fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Tasty and fun. Love the idea of cheese in the middle. My 5 year old, however, would NOT eat it. Freaked him out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by irene91867
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I just follow directions from regular meatloft preparation and then I divided the portions onto little rats. I used black olives halves for eyes, carrots for ears and spaguetti for tail and mustache. I served over white rice and lettuce and tomatoes on the side. Super fun to Halloween dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irene91867

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swingqueen80
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Made these using canned meatloaf sauce to save time, and they came out fine. I also put them on sticks, so I think the bigger the rat the more juicy they were. Making them too small made them prone to dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I'm giving it 5 stars for the great and fun idea, but changed it so much, it doesn't really resemble the original recipe. Here's what I did: We don't eat beef so I used a salmon loaf recipe, which made the rat (one giant one) a weird "hairless" looking pink color. Then, since we love our pet rats and would never want to see them bloody, I set him on a bed of sauteed broccoli slaw (garlic and olive oil) so it would look like "Ratty" was sitting in the grass. I served green dill sauce on the side. I have to say, he was still pretty creepy. I left out the cheese because I didn't think it would work with the salmon. Since we really do like gruesome things on Halloween, the following year, I used the same salmon loaf recipe but shaped it in the form of a human head. I did use (homemade) tomato sauce, and used half of a steamed cauliflower for a semi-exposed brain. I made 2 pop-eyes out of radishes with a green olive slices for pupils. I then served it with a knife jutting out of it on a platter of shredded, roasted black kale . My zombie niece and nephew walked into the kitchen, to have a trick-or-treating dinner break, and one of them shreiked (I think it was my 9-year-old nephew) and they both fell on the floor laughing. That reaction made the whole load of work that went into it well worth it! I'm thinking this year maybe a mummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These were a lot of fun, and teasted good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Halloween Bloody Baked Rats

These creepy-cute mini meatloaves are spooktacular for Halloween dinner.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States