Halibut with Rice Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
One of our favorites - we like to double the sauce b/c we pour it over our broccoli. That said, I've found it a cinch to multiply all the sauce ingredients by 6 (thus using up most of the black bean sauce that I would otherwise waste). I then use 1/3 of the sauce for dinner, and divide the remaining sauce into 2 freezer bags and freeze them. Then the next two times I make this meal, all I have to do is thaw and warm the sauce in the microwave while I cook the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This really was a nice dish and a refreshing and unusual departure from what Hubs and I might typically eat. A wonderful blend of ingredients that came together to make a delicious drizzling sauce - dark, rich and a little sweet. A little is nice, more would ruin the dish. I liked the cilantro to finish but Hubs could have done without. I baked the fish at 400 degrees until the fish was cooked through; for my thick halibut filets that took about 15 minutes. I served this with "Sesame Udon Noodles," recipe also from this site and they complemented each other well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wow,this was great! What a wonderful sauce. Next time I will serve with rice so that we get every drop. Thanks Kathryn for sharing an easy and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Excellent!!!! Anyone who does not like fish, and those who love fish, will love this recipe. Great way to do something different with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Yum! Made it last night for 2, but tripled the sauce recipe ( so like sauce for 18 I guess:>). Baked it in the oven, turning once, at 400 for about 15 minutes. Served with Jasmine rice and asparagus with shitake mushrooms. Here's the kicker - I couldn't find 'mirin' - so I substituted reisling (1.5 cups). It was great! The sauce is salty (sauce for 18 eaten by 2 people, go figure) so next time I might try low soldium soy. Thanks! Husband really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This recipe is in my monthly rotation; very tasty and very easy. I've made it with salmon and it's just as good. The sauce makes the recipe taste like something from a restaurant, but it's still super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! I've used both halibut and ling cod and they came out great. I added red pepper flakes for some heat. I had some extra sauce so I used it for sauted asparagus to go along side and it was delicious (green beans would work too). I will definately make this again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Although I had to substitute sherry for the japanese wine, this is among the best fish recipes I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
YUM! This will be my go to for white fish now! It made several converts of my family who previously claimed not to like fish. They got seconds! I served this with quick sesame green beans (adding shiitake mushrooms after reading SunnyByrd's review), lime cilantro rice, and mango lassi II all from this site. The sauce on this is so easy to throw together, delicious, and light tasting. It's also very versatile. I always have the best intentions of making a recipe "as written" but I couldn't find the rice wine and I realized I was out of rice vinegar last minute. I subbed pinot grigio and white wine vinegar, and it still turned out wonderful. Thank you for sharing this Kathryn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was excellent! My family enjoyed as well as myself! I recommend this recipe! I didn't have shallots on hand but I used finely choppped onions instead. And I also doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinmom
Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States