Halibut with Rice Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Man! I can't believe there are only 20 reviews on this. This sauce is unbelievable! I want to pour it over every meal I have from now on! It really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We liked this very much. The sauce is a nice touch and does not overwhelm the wonderful halibut. Will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The sauce on this dish is fabulous. I admit, I did make a few changes just based upon what I had in the kitchen. Here is what I did, only based upon "items on hand": *used tilapia, and baked in oven instead of grilling *used sherry instead of the mirin, like others suggested *hunted all over grocery store for black bean sauce to no avail, ended up using hoisin sauce that I already had (is this maybe the same thing?) *used dried cilantro rather than fresh *be sure to double the sauce...I didn't but wish I would've Sorry to all of you purists out there that say we need to follow a recipe exactly the first time. The sauce is what makes this. Served with red beans and rice along with fresh asparagus and white wine. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was great...I used it on cod. I'm trying to decide what else to use with this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Excellent! We love it! Used Sherry instead of Japanese Sweet Wine like another reviewer suggested. Also doubled up on the sauce. Is now one of our favorite fish recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Wow, this was delicious. This was one of the best tasting fish dishes I have had. I would agree that the cilantro really makes the dish incredible. Do not leave it out. I think next time I will double the sauce. We served the fish with Sobe noodles. As they didn't have a lot of flavor, the sauce really enhanced the side dish too. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for our out-of-town guest. It was a tremendous hit, even with my teenagers! This is definately a recipe I will make often. I added red pepper flakes to the sesame oil to give it some kick. It was enjoyed by all. It even made frozen halibut taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
OMG! This was really, really good. Next time I will add a little more sesame oil onto the fish so that it wont stick on the grill. I will also add more cilantro. The mix of flavors was really impressive, but the cilantro (and I'm not a huge fan of the herb) gave it such a fresh flavor. The cilantro is the icing on top do not skimp on it or delete it! Really good and resturant quality. The best part of the recipe is that I had every ingrediant in my staple items. Thanks, Kathryn, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT!! I made this last night and hubby and I loved it. I don't use alcohol so I substituted with grape juice with a little lemon juice. Wonderful, definitely a keeper. I'm looking for great fish recipes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I joined the site just to review this recipe. LOVED IT. I added a little white wine when I poured in the mirin, just because I like the flavor it lends. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States