Halibut with Rice Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
One of our favorites - we like to double the sauce b/c we pour it over our broccoli. That said, I've found it a cinch to multiply all the sauce ingredients by 6 (thus using up most of the black bean sauce that I would otherwise waste). I then use 1/3 of the sauce for dinner, and divide the remaining sauce into 2 freezer bags and freeze them. Then the next two times I make this meal, all I have to do is thaw and warm the sauce in the microwave while I cook the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prell2k4
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
The sauce was out of this world. The only change I made to this recipe was to double the sauce and I am glad I did. Served it with basamti rice and spinach. This will go on regular rotation and will try it with different fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was a phenomenal sauce. At first I was leary because I had to buy all of the ingredients, but I am glad that I did because I will be making this again. For those who thought it was too salty, make sure you reduce the sauce enough, and you end up with a mild, sweet sauce, not a salty one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is a very good dish and something out of the ordinary. The blend of flavors is tasty. I made it last night for friends. I put it on some quality King salmon and halibut. My only complaint is that there isn't much sauce to begin with and once half of it boils away, there's hardly anything left. I think I tripled the amount of oil in the recipe and added a teaspoon of Asian hot chili oil to give it a little zing (I'm glad I did). Otherwise, this was a great little recipe. Don't forget the cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Just a note per a previous reviewer's comment: hoisin sauce is not the same as black bean sauce - the black bean sauce is combined with garlic and is savory as opposed to sweet. Usually found in a jar. Lee Kum Kee (red lid) is a popular brand (at least in the west coast) and can be found in most asian markets or asian food section with the rest of the jarred sauces. Update: Interesting combo of flavors. Made for dinner tonite. Substituted green onion for shallots and garlic chili sauce (about 1 tsp) and vegetarian stir fry sauce (2 tsp) cuz I was out of black bean sauce. the sauce came out nicely without any one flavor overpowering the other. i might up the chili sauce next time even if I had the black bean sauce. Broiled the halibut on low, and the fish was nice and moist. Served with whole asparagus that I tossed on the roasting pan with the fish. Next time I might angle slice the aspagus to get more of the sauce on. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Man! I can't believe there are only 20 reviews on this. This sauce is unbelievable! I want to pour it over every meal I have from now on! It really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
We liked this very much. The sauce is a nice touch and does not overwhelm the wonderful halibut. Will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
The sauce on this dish is fabulous. I admit, I did make a few changes just based upon what I had in the kitchen. Here is what I did, only based upon "items on hand": *used tilapia, and baked in oven instead of grilling *used sherry instead of the mirin, like others suggested *hunted all over grocery store for black bean sauce to no avail, ended up using hoisin sauce that I already had (is this maybe the same thing?) *used dried cilantro rather than fresh *be sure to double the sauce...I didn't but wish I would've Sorry to all of you purists out there that say we need to follow a recipe exactly the first time. The sauce is what makes this. Served with red beans and rice along with fresh asparagus and white wine. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was great...I used it on cod. I'm trying to decide what else to use with this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Excellent! We love it! Used Sherry instead of Japanese Sweet Wine like another reviewer suggested. Also doubled up on the sauce. Is now one of our favorite fish recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States