Halibut with Rice Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is my favorite halibut recipe for non-battered halibut. Triple the sauce because it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama n' papa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
this recipe was amazing and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
It is purely amazing and my girlfriend said that her grandma use to make this sauce but put catfish in it and serve it over rice. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This dish is wonderful - I doubled the sauce and served with white rice and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
***THIS IS DELICIOUS*** We loved this recipe, especially the sauce. I didn't have black bean sauce so I used oyster sauce. I served the halibut over raw spinach with cherry tomatoes and the sauce over that was fabulous too. Next time, I'll double the sauce since I could see it going with so many other things, like chicken, shrimp, scallops, pork, you name it. This would be a great sauce for spring rolls too. EXCELLENT RECIPES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is one of those rare instances where I just DO NOT understand why this was so highly rated. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was just a sticky sweet sauce that tasted like something you'd get at a cheap chinese restaurant. I just don't get it. I spent about an hour collecting the ingredients and then cooking and I literally didn't eat it (literally). I blame this partly on the crappy fish (Cod and Catfish I bought at Winn Dixie) but even still....it just wasn't good. I hate to be the first negative review for this but I have to be honest here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
First review. This is an excellent recipe. We bagged the cilantro and used the green part of scallions as a topping. Multiplied the sauce and used it on both fish and sticky rice. Although our vegetable was broccoli I would use baby bok choy the next time and there will be a next time. Kudos to Kathryn for this recipe, a wonderful addition to our "heart healthy" attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
YUM! This will be my go to for white fish now! It made several converts of my family who previously claimed not to like fish. They got seconds! I served this with quick sesame green beans (adding shiitake mushrooms after reading SunnyByrd's review), lime cilantro rice, and mango lassi II all from this site. The sauce on this is so easy to throw together, delicious, and light tasting. It's also very versatile. I always have the best intentions of making a recipe "as written" but I couldn't find the rice wine and I realized I was out of rice vinegar last minute. I subbed pinot grigio and white wine vinegar, and it still turned out wonderful. Thank you for sharing this Kathryn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Excellent! I was afraid this was going to be too salty for me, but it turned out perfectly. I served the fish with gingered green beans and shiitakes, and sesame rice. I can see this sauce complimenting most kinds of fish, and will definitely use it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
THIS WAS WONDERFUL! Make this as stated and you will NOT be disappointed. With a pound of halibut to serve three, I doubled the sauce but had some left over (froze it for later use on anything I can think of!). It was perfect with sticky rice. I almost wish I had put just a tad more sesame oil on the fish, but how can you quibble about perfection?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States