Halibut with Creamy Garlic and Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
The Creamy Garlic and Herb Sauce perfectly complimented the mild flavor of the Halibut, and tasted incredible. The sauce was quick and easy to make, and was done at the same time the fillets were ready to plate. This dish went well with a glass of wine and was a perfect main dish for a romantic candle light dinner for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Let me just say that this "Creamy Garlic & Herb Sauce" is truly OUTSTANDING!!! I have yet to actually try it with halibut though, but it would be good on just about anything! I jump to Step 3 in the recipe and go from there. I've made it three ways so far. First I used it over crab cakes to rave reviews. Then I served it over cheese stuffed ravioli and again it was excellent. The other day I made a pasta dish with shrimp & spinach, along side an appetizer of pan seared sea scallops... this sauce is so good that we poured some over both courses! The whole tablespoon of crushed red pepper is a bit much though; I used about half that amount and it was still somewhat spicy. We seriously LOVE this and I can't wait to try it a dozen more ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
excellent dish....i didn't add tarragon or cilantro because i didn't have anyone. those ingredients were not necessary. this is a gourmet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The sauce along is worth making this recipe!!! It is wonderful. I did make a couple of changes: used nonfat half and half, didn't have red pepper, used about a tsp of red pepper flakes. Hubby poured it over everything on his plate. It seems it reminds him of a Bernaise sauce....whatever it was WONDERFUL!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Mmmmmmm so good. I didnt use Dill because i dont like it but added a bit of thyme because its my favourite. I also did not use the almonds. Looks really nice on the plate too! The sauce alone is to die for. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I didn't have the cilantro or the almonds and cut the amount of dill in half (because I don't like dill). Both my husband and I loved it and it will be something I make again for guests. The sauce would be great with chicken if you take out the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was fabulous! I made it last night with wild, fresh halibut and I was looking for a recipe different from the usual creamy caper or panko breading. This was very flavorful (I cut the crushed red pepper to 1 teaspoon), we loved the fresh red pepper and herb combination. So yummy! This morning I realized I forgot to add the almonds but we do have leftovers for them. Definitely a keeper and for company - and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great dish. Next time I'll cut the red pepper flakes to only 1 tsp. We love spicey dishes but even this was a little too hot for us. Great herb sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Overall, no problems cooking the recipe. After reading other reviews, I cut the crushed red pepper to a teaspoon. Even so, the sauce was still very spicy. Additionally, as other reviewers have indicated, the tarragon taste is very strong and overpowers some of the other elements of the sauce. Both my wife and liked it but were not in love with it. All three kids however, completedly rejected it due to the fire in the sauce. Overall, then, the average score for our family was 1.8 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States