Halibut with Creamy Garlic and Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The sauce along is worth making this recipe!!! It is wonderful. I did make a couple of changes: used nonfat half and half, didn't have red pepper, used about a tsp of red pepper flakes. Hubby poured it over everything on his plate. It seems it reminds him of a Bernaise sauce....whatever it was WONDERFUL!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Mmmmmmm so good. I didnt use Dill because i dont like it but added a bit of thyme because its my favourite. I also did not use the almonds. Looks really nice on the plate too! The sauce alone is to die for. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
excellent dish....i didn't add tarragon or cilantro because i didn't have anyone. those ingredients were not necessary. this is a gourmet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This dish was wonderful. I was looking for something out of the ordinary to do with my halibut and I sure wowed the family with this one. Didn't have any cilantro, but instead substituted with some different herbs. Served with a mediteranian style salad, made for a spectacular meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I took a chance and made this for a dinner party. It was delicious! Definitely going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the almonds and it was amazing. I used frozen halibut filets we had in the freezer for awhile - next time we'll use fresh halibut and I plan on making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Bermuda Dunes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was fabulous! I made it last night with wild, fresh halibut and I was looking for a recipe different from the usual creamy caper or panko breading. This was very flavorful (I cut the crushed red pepper to 1 teaspoon), we loved the fresh red pepper and herb combination. So yummy! This morning I realized I forgot to add the almonds but we do have leftovers for them. Definitely a keeper and for company - and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was awesome! Made with chicken Breasts instead of fish. Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fantastic! Used haddock, no cilantro, no tarragon, 1/4 tsp only of crushed red pepper, no almonds (although I think they're healthy & would be delicious), 6-7 cloves of FRESH garlic, and only used a few tiny squirts of fresh lemon on fish. Better than Restaurant food...amazing sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Let me just say that this "Creamy Garlic & Herb Sauce" is truly OUTSTANDING!!! I have yet to actually try it with halibut though, but it would be good on just about anything! I jump to Step 3 in the recipe and go from there. I've made it three ways so far. First I used it over crab cakes to rave reviews. Then I served it over cheese stuffed ravioli and again it was excellent. The other day I made a pasta dish with shrimp & spinach, along side an appetizer of pan seared sea scallops... this sauce is so good that we poured some over both courses! The whole tablespoon of crushed red pepper is a bit much though; I used about half that amount and it was still somewhat spicy. We seriously LOVE this and I can't wait to try it a dozen more ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States