Halibut Weaver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was an easy recipe, and went well. I prefer crunch-fried fish, but my family enjoyed it this way. I used Tilapia fillets, and they were very good. No problems in following the recipe and the times. I might have preferred it a little less cheesy, but it came out well done, and very attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Had everything set up but the fish. Did'nt have halibut at the store, so scrod was substituted with homemade mayo. Tasted wonderful, will add to my favorite recipes. Moose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
When I made this very exact dish, I was actually using a recipe I picked up at a very popular fish restaurant in Los Alamitos, CA. They named it Cheesy Dill Halibut. It is a very good dish, but I would recommend using only half the amount of sauce unless you need a lot of it to spread over rice or potatoes or some veggie. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I have made this for years since, here in Alaska, we catch plenty of halibut. For a moist, tender dish, I cook it in the microwave with no topping for half the time, then drain any juices, add the topping and finish. This only takes a few minutes and should NOT be overcooked. It is my husband's favorite. It's also great spread with tartar sauce instead of the mayo mix. You can hardly go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda in Alaska
Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and so easy - just what we like. Have substituted fresh haddock (less expensive) for halibut with good results. Do not try frozen fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I used fresh dill instead of dry. It was really wonderful. I thinly sliced some yellow squash and put it in the pan underneath the fish and sauce. I did find that the fish was still raw after the allotted time and cooked it an additional 2 minutes in the microwave before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used just cheddar cheese for this, and I thought it turned out pretty good. My halibut pieces were fairly thick, so I baked them 31 minutes, and they were cooked perfectly. We were overall pretty pleased, but I may cut down on the topping next time because it was a little too heavy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I'm sorry but this just did not work for me. Maybe because I used medium-sharp chedder, but the combination with the halibut did not sit well. The unique flavor of the halibut was ruined. I've tried a similar recipe that used purely parmesan and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
A wonderful simple recipe, this really did it for me. One of my favorite recipes of all time for Halibut. Everyone preferred this with a baked potato over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this as stated except I forgot the mustard powder. I also used 1lb halibut and 1lb orange roughy. It was really, really good but a wee bit heavy with the mayo. I wondered about maybe sour cream next time instead. I would make it again just like this however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States