Halibut Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was unlike any fish I've either eaten or prepared, and I was interested to try something that seemed different. That, and having all the ingredients on hand, led me to this recipe. I seasoned the filets with salt, pepper and garlic powder before I spread the topping, then sprinkled on some paprika for color. Wow -both my husband and I really enjoyed it! Moist, flaky fish, with a rich, creamy topping that looked very attractive on the plate, especially with a sprinkle of finely chopped fresh parsley just before serving. Also a plus was that I was able to assemble this ahead of time and just pop it into the oven when I was ready to have dinner. I know this will not be the last appearance of this dish at our house! Thanks for the unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I tried this recipe last night, and my husband is still raving about it. I thought it was very good, also; defintely worthy of anything found in a restaurant. The halibut was very moist and perfectly done. I did embellish, as I almost always do. I used parmesean (lower fat), low fat mayo & sour cream, added 1 tsp lemon zest,1/2 tsp fish rub,1/2 tsp dill weed, and fresh ground pepper. I don't doubt it would have been just as good as posted without these additions; I just can't resist "messing with" recipes. Also, I baked it over fresh spinach (from another similar recipe). This was our vege accompaniment, along with a side of mashed potatoes. My husband usually does not touch anything with sauce; he was delighted with this dish. He can't wait for me to serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherylbrn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was one of the better recipes for halibut I have had. I made a few substitutions and additions. I used half cheddar and half fresh parmesan cheese, Used garlic instead of onion, and added dried dill. I added the lemon juice, cayenne, and dill to taste. Over all it was very good and would recommend to any who like halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this with chicken and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Our family LOVES this recipe!! I use Parmesan Cheese and mix it in the mixture and then sprinkle some extra on top. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This is a great recipie. My whole famly enjoyed it right down to my picky 4 year old. I even used milk instead of the sour cream for a creamy mix and then I didnt have to take the "troops" all to the store for missing ingredients. We will definatly be making this one often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
We eat a lot of halibut at my house. I thought this recioe was pretty good just a little rich though. The wife and kids loved it and said they would eat it again and again. I followed the recipe with no subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONSNAGGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I thought this recipe was FABULOUS. Craving it now. I used some dill when doing this and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was a "very" bland recipe. DH thought it was okay but definitely needed to be "spiced" up considerably. Will probably make again but with different seasonings. It also took almost 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I wanted to make something special for New Years. I made this - followed a review to replace 1/2 the cheddar with parmesan cheese, otherwise followed the recipe. The fish was very moist and flavorful and would be a good dish on it’s own. However, with Halibut being so expensive - I gave attention to sides and presentation. I topped the fish on ultra creamy mash potatoes, sided with seared scallops and parmesan asparagus - all great recipes found at allrecipes. I'm a decent cook and will say this was one of the best dishes I've ever made. The presentation was good and the taste was phenomenal! We will be raving about this meal throughout the New Year. Happy New Year and thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States