Halibut Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
So good and easy. I didn't have zucchinni so used half yellow and half orange bell pepper and it was still delish. Will make again using zucchinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a perfect recipe for a quick & easy meal. I had a halibut filet to use and was too tired to make anything fancy so I tried this recipe. I used carrot instead of zucchini and fresh basil. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Was not impressed. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell Dirksen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I squeezed a lime into mine. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
The veggies were cooked well. Still can't get the Halibut to stay perfectly moist. Will try one more time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Looking for something healthy, and packed with layers of flavor... this is the one! Halibut here in Northern Illinois was $16.99 a pound today and DID NOT smell like the sea! I substituted the Halibut for Cod... Very nice, dusted with fresh basil and a squeeze of lemon at the end and served with brown rice... The results were a restaurant quality dinner for about $10.00 total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I just made this for dinner tonight, and I have one word for you...WOW! After reading the reviews, I decided to rub the halibut steaks (yes, I used steaks, not filets) with olive oil, salt and pepper, and placed them in the bottom of a CorningWare dish. Then I sauteed the veggies (carrots, zucchini, snow peas, cauliflower, onions and lots of garlic) in olive oil for just a couple minutes and dumped them over the fish. Baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes (omitting the tomato) and it was fabulous. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Tried this one out on my wife since she wasn't crazy about many of the other "fish" recipes I have tried. When asked, she said she would prefer this recipe over any of the others I have tried. Really liked the vegetable topping and I have them in the fridge all the time anyways. Great recipe and very easy to make and put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Halibut is one of our favorites and I had all the ingredients on hand, so I decided to try this out. It turned out quite well. I lightly sauteed my veggies separately so they wouldn't get overdone. I seasoned my fish with salt, pepper, and Old Bay and added a couple of thin pats of butter on top of the fish. I then added the veggies over the top and added a glug of white wine around the fish. I baked this covered for 15 minutes and then uncovered for 15 minutes (my halibut was a little larger than called for in the recipe). This was very tasty and we both enjoyed it, even though I forgot the basil. I wouldn't hesitate to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My husband and I liked it, but didn't love it. I thought it lacked flavor and I didn't care for the halibut. Next time may use grouper like others suggest and tweak (add butter or basalmic vinegar) to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States