Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Horrible! Don't waste your lovely halibut on this mess! Far too much mustard and sauce overwhelms fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Really really GOOD S**T!! I fallowed the advice and used less mustard only about 1 table spoon. Little more cheese and fried onions. This recipe with help me get though all the Halibut i brought back from Alaska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews first. 3 tbsp seemed like a lot of mustard, but I always try to make a recipe as written the first time. I think that 1 tbsp (3 tsp) would be better. 20-25 minutes @ 350F cooked it well. It's not bad, but is very mustard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Tried this last night and concur with the reviews that mention too much mustard. Way too much. Also didn't like the consistency of the dish with the sour cream. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a great way to make "plain old fish" taste different and elegant (my first criteria in a fish recipe!). Even my guests love it! I made as-written, using Hawaiian Opa or Ono, good with Mahi Mahi also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The overall flavor was good; however, I feel that you can find a tastier way to prepare halibut. In my opinion the dry mustard did not overpower the fish. On the other hand, this recipe calls for too much sour cream and that makes for a rich and slightly heavy sauce that detracts from the delicateness of halibut. I tried making my own french fried onions - soaked in milk, dredged in flour and then pan fried with a little canola oil... I think this helped. One note on the cooking time - mine bake for 35 minutes in a covered enamel french oven and needed every bit of that time to fully cook. This recipe was worth trying once, but to me the price of fresh halibut is too expensive and the results of this recipe too underwhelming to want to give it another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Ok, this is AWESOME! I also only used 2 tbls of mustard. I used an electronic thermomater which I think you need because it took more like 25 minutes. i used cheddar flavored onions, too. My husband said it's my best meal ever!!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Used only 1 T. of mustard, and cooked a little longer. Made it with Flounder for the first time. Will be making this again, and again. Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
tasted great to me and everyone said it was good but not all of it got eaten.hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Loved it but next time would definitly cook much long and put in less mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airbornemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States