Halibut Cheeks with Ginger-Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I must be missing something here, but this sauce did not taste good at all. The orange didn't pair right with the ginger, sesame, cilantro and soy. I just couldn't palette it. Was so acidic. So I just took out the orange and made it again. MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Humes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by callumkf555
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is without a doubt one of the tastiest, simplest, greatest dishes I've ever cooked, hats off to whatever chef concocted this little beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We are lucky to have a local source of "cheeks". I have prepared them using many recipes. These are quick, healthy and so delish! I added more cilantro!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is really delicious! Recommend doubling the sauce (or more) as it's really good over rice served with the fish. Awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Amazing. Unique combination of flavors. This is now one of our all-time favorite halibut recipes. I didn't have halibut cheeks so just used a regular filet. The first time I made it I used vegetable oil because I didn't have sesame oil. It was very good -- but the second time I used sesame oil and could taste a big difference. I wouldn't recommend substitutions with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wowie! Delicious! Just the right blend of spices and flavors. Not too sweet, not too spicy. I rarely use fresh cilantro or ginger because they go bad (and waste money), so I used the jarred spice versions and still delicious. I boiled the sauce on the stove, added a pinch of cornstarch to thicken the sauce just a tiny bit, grilled halibut steaks and spooned the sauce over them. Couldn't believe "I" made this gourmet dish! Tasted beyond my skill level. Would be a great dish for "company" - will impress! Succulent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! I made it as written (which is the only way to rate it) and my only suggestion is to make more! I made a lot more (2 kids, 2 adults) to drizzle on our wild rice blend and steamed cauliflower and it was fantastic. My 3 yr old enjoyed helping make it too, since it gets put together in the bowl first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This dish was great. I used Talapia rather than Halibut. I made the sauce ahead and kept it in the freezer. Made for an great no fuss fish dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I am in LOVE with this recipie, the first time I made it the whole family was silent through out the whole dinner. Ha ha, we were all too busy eating this wonderful dish. I made no changes to it whatsoever, love it just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum! Used this sauce with Mahi Mahi and it turned out great! So easy, fast and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States