Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe was very good. I added a little more cinnamon to it. My kids enjoyed it a lot. This will be the recipe I use from now on. I even made some to freeze for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My 14 year old son made this for me for Mother's Day...super easy and great flavors...he even impressed himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I loved the flavor of this, but I wasn't so crazy about the texture of the middle of the bread. It was almost custard-like. I did let the sliced bread sit out for about 9 hours. I might try this again with thinner slices of bread and the addition of some vanilla because I really did love the orange flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
wow this is tasty! I had all things on hand so it was super easy. I made a homemade blueberry syrup to compliment the orange! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it was a little chewy as it got colder but it could have been my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linriyum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very good, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Wow! My husband and I have been looking for a good French Toast recipe, and we really like this one. We use make a half-recipe on Saturday and a half-recipe on Sunday, so one baguette makes breakfast for a whole weekend. I don't leave the bread out overnight, and it still turns out really well. Using the baguette bread keeps the toast from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
it tasted really good to me & my mom but the rest of the family was not thrilled with the not-to-subtle orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
this rocks! nice bright flavor for a cold winter morning. i made 1.5x the recipe because it didn't look like it would be enough for my 1-lb. pugliese loaf, but there was enough custard for that loaf plus a .5-lb. whole grain loaf with still some left over (i'm thinking it will turn into bread pudding!) i did add about a tbsp. of triple sec, but that was the only change i made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I just soaked for a few seconds. My boyfriend likes french toast "crispy". This way came out great. Next time, when hes not around, I will soak as recomended. The OJ gave wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I took a bunch of short cuts and the taste was still great! I will definitely try again when I have all the proper ingredients. I substituted skim milk for the cream, and still got a great tasting french toast. However, I used sliced sandwich bread and my "toast" came out rather soggy, so I would definitely recommend real bread if you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States