Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Husband and daughter loved this. I kinda cheated and placed sliced french bread in oven at 200 degrees for 10 minutes instead of letting bread sit out for 4 hours, otherwise made as written. Served with syrup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was sinful. OMG. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and added a bit of orange juice, probably about a tbsp. I served it with Homemade Pancake Syrup which is also from this site. My family and I were in french toast heaven. Wonderful recipe, just wonderful. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Made this for my son's 3rd birthday breakfast and got rave reviews!!! I had 9 people over for breakfast and so I used a Challah loaf (that I made from a recipe from this site) and I also used a half a loaf of store bought french bread and sliced both the night before. Everyone agreed that the Challah loaf made the better french toast. I also zested a half an orange. Yummy! Will definately do again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
The flavor was nice but mine came out super soggy! It is probably my fault because I used pre-packaged thick sliced french bread from the supermarket which was quite soft from the start. Next time I will try real french bread or just dip it instead of soaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Didn't like the orange juice flavor. Underwhelming, I'll stick to regular french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The cup of orange juice adds a sweet and tangy taste surprise to this wonderful variation on basic french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Ive made this a couple times now and it is very good. It helps to change up things a bit with kids. I use french bread and we never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I was a little leery about the oj but made it as it was since I really needed to use it up, and wow, the orange flavor was actually great. My dad, who's my biggest critic ever, and hates most of what I make, scarfed down 6 slices! He even gave his biggest compliment: This takes like something from a fancy restaurant! Since I had extra bread, I made 1.5 times the recipe and it worked great but it would have been fine with just the original amount of the recipe. Mine was probably way too rich. Only changes: milk because I never have cream, and no nutmeg either and while the bread was soaking I pushed in raisins into the bread. Don't worry if your bread soaks a little extra; my bread soaked about 10 min by accident and it still cooked up good. That totally put it over the top good! What I would like to do next time is reduce the sugar to maybe 2 TB and make a orange syrup to pour over instead. But it was fab french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is the best French toast I have ever had. My family agrees and said that it was better than any French toast served in even the best restaurants. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe was very good. I added a little more cinnamon to it. My kids enjoyed it a lot. This will be the recipe I use from now on. I even made some to freeze for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States