Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
The taste of this was great, however it turned into a soggy mess for me. I followed the recipe exactly- leaving the cut bread overnight. I didn't let the bread sit in the egg mixture nearly as long- maybe just about 30 seconds a side, but when I fried them up, they were really soggy. I found I fried them for nearly 10 minutes per side, trying to get them less mushy, but to no avail. My husband said maybe had I cut the bread much thinner perhaps it would have worked better. I might have to play with the recipe, because I really did like the taste, but no one in our family could eat theirs because they were so raw they practically liquified in the middle. sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was wonderful though I made a couple of adjustments. I had no heavy cream so I used light cream. I also subbed 4 Tablespoons triple sec for part of the OJ to give it a sweeter citrus flavor. I used up leftover croissants instead of the baguette. This was delicious. Next time I will add maybe a teaspoon of fresh orange zest to the egg wash and maybe an extra egg. I served it with some sliced mango and bacon. Just a very lovely french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I loved this french toast and I am not usually a fan of french toast. However I did make one small change, I left off the powdered sugar (don't really like it.) I thought that the orange flavor would be stronger so next time I think I will add a little fresh orange zest. I will be making this again. HAPPY EATING!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
2 stars because the taste of the batter was not bad BUT DO NOT LET YOUR BREAD SOAK into the mixture. The bread gets fried soggy regardless if it is fully cooked in the pan. Did not enjoy it because of that. I've had better french toast. My suggestion would be to only dip it so that it is just battered enough to be fried on the pan. I'm still looking for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This has really good flavor and is a nice deviation from our normal French toast. I didn’t want to deal with the soggy bread fearing that after sitting for several hours in an egg mixture it would just fall apart, therefore I made this into a casserole 8x8 pan, baking it at 350º for 40 - 45 minutes. The only other change I did was to use challah bread (personal preference) and cubed the bread for easier serving. We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Loved this! As did the whole family. Didn't feel like cooking like regular french toast so I broke it up and put it in the oven as one reviewer suggested. It was excellent. Maybe next time I'll add some dried fruit to it, like cranberries or raisins, anything really. Felt it was a little healthier baked since my daughter isn't into fried foods. I used a good cinnamon bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is really good. Used milk rather than heavy cream and left out the nutmeg. I don't think I would want this every time over "classic" french toast but it's a nice treat every now and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very good. Used items i had on hand. Omitted OJ-used a little bite of milk maybe 1/2Cup, and used eggnog flavored liquid creamer in place of heavy cream. Gave it a special holiday taste. My family really enjoyed this sprinkled with powdered sugar. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I want to thank you for your recipe. I used it as inspiration to develop a "French Toast Casserole" that earned rave reviews. I am sure your recipe is wonderful as written, I just wanted out of the kitchen to mingle with guests. Thanks for the idea! Basically, I cubed the bread, placed in a casserole and poured the egg mixture over the top. After allowing the bread to absorb liquid I baked at 375 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was great french toast! My husband and kids loved it! The orange juice made a great new flavor for french toast. The only thing it was soggy, but probably cause I didnt let the bread sit out (unwrapped) long enough.... next time I will! Thanks love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LooHunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States