Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I didn't take the advice of others and I opted for sliced wheat bread - the french toast mixture was too much for the bread and it easily fell apart. It was still delicious, but next time I'm going to use baguette bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This best French Toast recipe that I've ever had in my life. The OJ and cream mixture is truly a gift from God. Yea it's that good IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was wonderful! We used half and half instead of heavy cream in equal parts with the orange juice. We used a French batard so our pieces would be larger. We also added an extra egg because my husband wanted to. When he helps I try to accommodate. I have never had such tasty French toast. This recipe will be a regular. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Delicious! Thick Bread is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I thought that it needed vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
To die for! So good!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
THE BEST FRENCH TOAST EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
So easy and delish. The orange juice was absolutely the secret ingredient.my kids loved it. I did use an extra egg and also didn't have cream on hand so I used milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
it tasted really good but it doesn't really say HOW to combine all the ingredients in the pan, and also never uses the nutmeg. it's easy enough to figure out of course, but that doesn't excuse bad directions. i used cinnamon swirl bread, and orange liqueur instead of juice, so i didn't use as much and replaced the rest with milk. tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This came out very good - hubby loved it. I had to alter it based on what I had. Plus I ALWAYS add vanilla to french toast recipes. Here is what I did differently:-------------- -5 pcs. Texas Toast bread (from Smart & Final) -used 1/2 C. 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream -some juice from fresh squeezed oranges about 1/4 c. (maybe less) - a bit more cinnamon & nutmeg (be careful with the nutmeg, of course) -2 tsp. vanilla ------------------------------------ With whisk, beat all ingredients in bowl(except butter & powdered sugar). Then place in 9 x 13 inch pan. Add the bread - turn it over - make sure evenly soaked - all liquid will soak up. and NOT be too soggy. Everything else was the same as original recipe. I look forward to trying it as it is supposed to be because it got such great reviews but seriously, I am very happy with the version I ended up with as well! Yumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States