Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
THE BEST FRENCH TOAST EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
So easy and delish. The orange juice was absolutely the secret ingredient.my kids loved it. I did use an extra egg and also didn't have cream on hand so I used milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
it tasted really good but it doesn't really say HOW to combine all the ingredients in the pan, and also never uses the nutmeg. it's easy enough to figure out of course, but that doesn't excuse bad directions. i used cinnamon swirl bread, and orange liqueur instead of juice, so i didn't use as much and replaced the rest with milk. tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This came out very good - hubby loved it. I had to alter it based on what I had. Plus I ALWAYS add vanilla to french toast recipes. Here is what I did differently:-------------- -5 pcs. Texas Toast bread (from Smart & Final) -used 1/2 C. 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream -some juice from fresh squeezed oranges about 1/4 c. (maybe less) - a bit more cinnamon & nutmeg (be careful with the nutmeg, of course) -2 tsp. vanilla ------------------------------------ With whisk, beat all ingredients in bowl(except butter & powdered sugar). Then place in 9 x 13 inch pan. Add the bread - turn it over - make sure evenly soaked - all liquid will soak up. and NOT be too soggy. Everything else was the same as original recipe. I look forward to trying it as it is supposed to be because it got such great reviews but seriously, I am very happy with the version I ended up with as well! Yumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is an excellent French toast recipe! My husband loved it too! Very flavorful and easy to make. I followed the recipe here exactly, but substituted orange juice with pineapple-orange juice, and added a small amount of all-spice and vanilla extract. It was wonderfully sweet and satisfying!! By far my favorite French toast recipe, and easily modifiable to your taste with other ingredients as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Not really worth the heavy calories for a French toast recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I used half the orange juice and added a bit of vanilla. Didn't dry out the bread; just soaked it for a few minutes prior to grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Excellent. Follow exactly. Slice Italian bread the night before and leave out - cooks better when a little stale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These were AMAZING!! I used cinnamon swirl bread instead of a baguette and added a dash of cloves instead of nutmeg. And I didn't have heavy cream so I just used milk. The most delicious french toast I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I was surprised that the orange flavor shone through, but it did. An easy and yummy recipe. Halved the recipe for 2 people. Will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billeh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States