Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
The french toast had a great flavor. Next time I might add a little Grand Marnier too! I would definately suggest that you whisk the liquid mixture in a small bowl first, THEN put it in the 9x13 pan so the bread can soak it up. I made a big mess trying to blend it in the shallow pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
One of the most delicious meals I have made! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This is a good french toast, but does not taste much different than my usual with the exception of orange. The orange taste if very light and gives this a unique flavor. I used maple syrup rather than the powdered sugar and did not let my bread "soak" in the mixture. I dipped the bread in just enough to coat well and then fried it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This french toast was awesome for a nice change from the ordinary!! My husband loved it as well as my 1 yr old (very picky) daughter!! I froze the few slices we had leftover and heated them in the microwave for my daughter to have for a quick breakfast during the week. Very Good--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
This is The Most AMAZING French Toast on this planet! I tried it without orange juice (used milk instead) and it tasted Incredible!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is awesome!! Follow the directions and this will be the best french toast you will ever eat. I mixed the liquid ingredients in a jelly roll pan and the sugar easily disolved with no mess. I then put the bread, which I let sit out sliced overnight, right in the liquid mixture in my jelly roll pan. Make sure you cut the bread in thick slices and let it soak for the full 5 minutes, if you don't the orange flavor doesn't infuse very well. My kids, 4 & 3, both ate THREE pieces of this french toast they loved it that much. I was able to cook the whole loaf of bread on my electric griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
YUM! We loved this recipe! My 15 month old and picky 3 year old also ate it up! Will be making this again and again. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I liked it, but couldn't convince my family into it. They said it tasted too fruity... that's just what I liked about it, it was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
dude this is the best stuff ever and it is my favorite breakfast ever. You should love this. try it!!! its easy to make and it turns out great!!! ps. im 12 ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I LOVED this recipe, it was delicious and my husband and toddlers loved it! Contrary to some of the other reviews, I would not change anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States