Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JenV
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, except for one thing. I didn't have heavy cream, so I used whole milk instead. I pre-mixed the eggs/milk/OJ/cinnamon/sugar/nutmeg the night before, and stuck it in the refrigerator to save time in the morning. It worked great! No problems with soggy bread here. It fried up nicely. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a family favorite. Even gets the teens out of bed on the weekends! I made this without the cinnamon and nutmeg and added orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
very good meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerdine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this with half and half and baking Splenda. Also, used plain white bread b/c it was what I had on hand. Delicious! Didn't even need confectioner's sugar or syrup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I didn't let the bread stand overnight but lightly toasted them in the toaster and they were fine. I used challah bread but ommitted the confectioner's sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. There was a nice hint of OJ and the were delicious and moist without any maple syrup! If I happen to have whipping cream I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricodelicious

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
A hit with the family every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashkennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
If you enjoy bread pudding, you'd probably enjoy this recipe. I loved the flavor of the orange and cream (although I'd probably nix the sugar in recipe as it made it a tad too sweet for me) - but hated the consistency. Husband loved the cream interior consistency, but didn't care for the orange flavor. Can you guess which one of us doesn't care for bread pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
The taste of this was great, however it turned into a soggy mess for me. I followed the recipe exactly- leaving the cut bread overnight. I didn't let the bread sit in the egg mixture nearly as long- maybe just about 30 seconds a side, but when I fried them up, they were really soggy. I found I fried them for nearly 10 minutes per side, trying to get them less mushy, but to no avail. My husband said maybe had I cut the bread much thinner perhaps it would have worked better. I might have to play with the recipe, because I really did like the taste, but no one in our family could eat theirs because they were so raw they practically liquified in the middle. sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was wonderful though I made a couple of adjustments. I had no heavy cream so I used light cream. I also subbed 4 Tablespoons triple sec for part of the OJ to give it a sweeter citrus flavor. I used up leftover croissants instead of the baguette. This was delicious. Next time I will add maybe a teaspoon of fresh orange zest to the egg wash and maybe an extra egg. I served it with some sliced mango and bacon. Just a very lovely french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I loved this french toast and I am not usually a fan of french toast. However I did make one small change, I left off the powdered sugar (don't really like it.) I thought that the orange flavor would be stronger so next time I think I will add a little fresh orange zest. I will be making this again. HAPPY EATING!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States