Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is an excellent French toast recipe! My husband loved it too! Very flavorful and easy to make. I followed the recipe here exactly, but substituted orange juice with pineapple-orange juice, and added a small amount of all-spice and vanilla extract. It was wonderfully sweet and satisfying!! By far my favorite French toast recipe, and easily modifiable to your taste with other ingredients as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Not really worth the heavy calories for a French toast recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I used half the orange juice and added a bit of vanilla. Didn't dry out the bread; just soaked it for a few minutes prior to grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Excellent. Follow exactly. Slice Italian bread the night before and leave out - cooks better when a little stale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These were AMAZING!! I used cinnamon swirl bread instead of a baguette and added a dash of cloves instead of nutmeg. And I didn't have heavy cream so I just used milk. The most delicious french toast I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I was surprised that the orange flavor shone through, but it did. An easy and yummy recipe. Halved the recipe for 2 people. Will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billeh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I make this all the time. It's perfect when I have bread that's going bad or is stale. In fact, there was a spot of mold on a loaf of sourdough that I had this morning, I picked it off and soaked the hard bread for a few minutes and it was fantastic. Sometimes I add more sugar or use mango juice. I've made this about 20 times so far. Each time I can vary it or stick to the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is a great recipe. I didn't think it was too orangy tasting, it was just right. I used some homemade white bread that was about a week old, which was great because it was hard and tough and useless for most any other consumption. Of course, I drowned it with maple syrup and also some with a "choke cherry" syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yessi
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were just absolutely delicious!! Didn't change anything. Made them for my parents this thanksgiving morning.. seemed like they left to work in a pretty good mood ;) Great way to start a morning. ^-^ I will definately be making them again. The orange juice gives it a tang to the french toast but it blends in perfectly with all the other ingredients. YUM. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is DEVINE! Followed the recipe exactly and got rave reviews from the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States