Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Having been given our family traditional PR recipes, I always switch this up a bit...First after oil in skillet, brown tiny bits of ham or Canadian bacon or pork til just cracklin'....Sprinkle wih some Adobo seasoning...Then add bits of diced onion, tiny bits of potatoes, and then turn down heat some and add 1 or 2 ( I add 2 ) pkts Sazon....combine..then add a good 1 or 2 tbls Sofrito. Combine. Add 1 or 2 cans Goya tomate sauce. Finally add the pink beans. Combine. Cover and let all flavours marry. Simmer on low...Uncover when want to serve and cook liquid down ( only if too much ) but leave enough for it to have a creamy and not dry consistency. Now THESE are true PR beans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Again this was a great recipe. I used canned and drained kidney beans, omitted the salt, used unsalted tomato sauce and added Adobo to taste. It was awsome. I've used the canned and drained pinto beans before and it was without-a-doubt-delicious! The longer it cooks the more the flavors infuse into the beans, just make sure it doesn't burn. If you want thicker broth, try using the water the beans come in, instead draining it. Or use 1/2 water, 1/2 the bean water. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this recipe is good but I did make a few small changes. I quickly diced a small potato and plantain - you can get this at a Spanish food store and even some regular grocery stores - and sauteed them for a few minutes and added that to the rest of the mixture. The starch helped thicken the bean sauce up. I also spiced it up with some fresh cilantro and Adobo. Added juice from can of beans as suggested and let it simmer for about half an hour. mmmm. came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Habichuelas are traditionally kidney beans, not pinto beans. And I always do my own sofrito; onions, garlic, cilantro, culantro, cubaneli peppers, salted pork, and sweet peppers. Sautee that in olive oil, then put cans of big KIDNEY beans, liquid and all, half a can of tomatoe sauce and cover with water. Add some cumin and some oregano and you cook it for a loooong time, at least a couple of hours. A guiso always tastes better the longer you cook it. Then if you let it cool and reheat the next day it's even better! Don't forget to season with some salt and put in like a t sugar to cut off the acidity of the tomatoe sauce. Some people like it with a bit of potatoes (I don't) some people like some green olives (I do). And then you are done. NOW you got some puertorrican habichuelas!!!! Oh yeah baby!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YARI5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This tasted just like the make it on the island! I just added some green olives and cut up slices of bacon and chunks of ham! Everyone LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
THanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cooked these all day on the stovetop over med-low adding water as needed... these were awesome. Oh My Goodness! The flavor of these were Mmmmmmmm Mmmmmmmmm Goooood. I made the sofrito recipe shared by fivebrigs to make these beans. This is my new favorite bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was good. I didn't have sofrito so I added onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder in it's place. I made my own sazon seasoning so I put in 1 1/4 tsp. of that. I also added 1 cup of water instead of 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe makes nice flavorful beans. My famlily recipes are very similar to this one. I add a little more sofito and some chopped alcaparrado. Alcaparrado is a mixture of green olives stuffed with pimentos and capers. My family puts green olives in everthing! This is such a classic dish, it goes with everything. My husband and I put some in a bowl, place a fried egg on top and dip plantian pieces in it for breakfast and dinner a couple times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
yummmyy love this stuff over white rice, to make it thicker i chop up cubes of some buttercup squash and cook it till it thickens, also i use cilantro and some olives and peppers too! =) (the squash when it cooks makes it thicken, kind of like when you cook potatos in a stew)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States