Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Im making these last minute to go with my carne guisada (recipe carne guisada III). Since it was last minute, I made a few small changes. Omitted the oil, used 2 cans of kidney beans, chili powder, cumin, and fresh cracked sea salt and pepper. I plan on serving both the carne cuisada and this dish over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I am sooo glad I found this recipe! It's just like my mom makes it but she adds a ham hock to it. Since I no longer speak to my mom, I can make my own beans & not have to wait to eat hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this recipe is soo great and so fulfilling...it really tastes like authentic puerto rican beans. add puerto rican steamed rice, tostones and you have an awesome meal. we love it! the only changes is that i add a little bit more sazon seasoning because i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I can say it came out really good, I also add it cut tomato.(I just love tomato)..and it gave that that extra kick.. thank you for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
i found this recipe a few months ago and i was eager to try them cuz i really dont like plain beans, there is nothing better to me than these beans, i think they taste much better when made with fresh beans and i also add more sofrito, these beans kick butt!!! thee best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERTA08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe makes nice flavorful beans. My famlily recipes are very similar to this one. I add a little more sofito and some chopped alcaparrado. Alcaparrado is a mixture of green olives stuffed with pimentos and capers. My family puts green olives in everthing! This is such a classic dish, it goes with everything. My husband and I put some in a bowl, place a fried egg on top and dip plantian pieces in it for breakfast and dinner a couple times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
excellent i have made this many times whith did not add extra salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRDennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was sooo good !!! Especially with small chuncks of potato in the mix.Pour over some white rice!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was good, I made it with the carne guisada III recipe on this site. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I used a can of kidney beans because it was the only thing I had on hand. Tasted great and I'll definetly keep this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States