Habanero Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Very good salsa with a lot of flavor and some nice heat. Easy to make also. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very nice. I drained the tomatoes and only used 5 cans instead of 7. It was still a bit runny, but I added some extra cilantro and onions to thicken it up a bit. I also put 3 habernero peppers and 3 smoked jalepeno peppers into it. Seeds included. It had a nice slow burn, but wasn't over the edge. I will definitely make it again, but will puree fewer of the tomatoes and drain off all the juice on every source. SD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
A good salsa with tolerable heat and great flavor. Tastes just like this Mexican restuarant's salsa here in Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This is the first salsa recipe I tried to make myself. It was outstanding. One tip: Use SpoilerDave's suggestions. They are very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great recipe! I have made this a couple of times and it turns out great with a few changes. I blend everything together at one time, I don't add the the canned chiles, and I don't add the sugar. Comes out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseAg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very good salsa. Even better if made with roasted tomatillos. Wear Gloves when handling the habaneros! They're fiery little devils and the burn on your skin is far worse than it is in your mouth if you're not careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Very great salsa--my favorite to make homemade. The first time I made this was for an open house party. I used chili peppers instead of jalapenos (on accident) and it was very good and about medium level spicy...no one believed habanero was in there (only slight slow burn)! Several people wanted the recipe. The second time I made this today, I cut the recipe in half and I used some of my grandpa's garden tomatoes (that had been peeled, diced and frozen) and used a kitchen scale to weigh the right amount. I still used a whole habanero, 1 jalapeno, and one small chili and it was hot! My husband loves it even more now, and I'm going to give a little to my grandpa for Christmas too (he likes spicy as well)! This recipe is great and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes hot or medium salsa, as it can be either depending on what peppers and how much habanero you use relative to the scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I used ONE large can of tomatoes, 1 and a half limes, one onion, and two jalapenos, plus everything else. Like the punch. The acidity in the tomatoes mellows the peppers over a few days. Guests LOVED it. Makes a lot less, but a very strong salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Its so fresh and its nice and spicy. Doesnt last very long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Although this recipe is a good one, I'd like to note there is a difference between Jalapeno peppers and Habanero pepper - the Habanero being even hotter than the Jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States