Habanero Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Corey is Boston Strong!
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe said except I forgot to chop up one of the onions (but either way the onion I put in was rather large so it was probably about the same as 2 small/medium onions), only used 5 cans of tomatoes as someone else suggested, and I used 2 habaneros. This was excellent! My boyfriend LOVES hot salsa and is very particular about his salsa and he thought this was a very good alternative to the store bought Pace salsa (the only brand he likes). He also doesn't like chunky salsa so this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey is Boston Strong!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My husband made this! It was amazing! It was similar in taste to "On the Border" salsa... but much better...and fresh! He went exactly by the recipe...the only deviation is that he used freeze dried garlic instead of fresh...because that's what I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnrandles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very good use for all those habaneros
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Good stuff! I know most people get irritated when someone changes a recipe and then rates it, but I only substituted 4 Trinidad Scorpians (currently the hottest pepper in the world) for the hananeros called for (and left in the seeds) because I like heat... A lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
It will be hard to by salsa off the shelf after making this recipe! It was the perfect combination of flavor and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Try this one, it is the same ingredients mostly, but slightly more potent, which is how I like life. Same recipe and procedure, but substitute the amounts with one large can of tomatoes, one fresh tomato. One onion. Three garlic cloves. A three quarters inch grip of cilantro. Juice from one and a half limes, depending on how juicy your limes are. No juice from the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Best Salsa I've had, period. I used 1 can of tomato puree, no habanero, extra jalapenos and Chinese hot green peppers. It was excellent, and very spicy. I recommend trying the salsa after each can of tomato added until reaching your desired flavor, as each can makes it a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortysdohdoh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I used 8 fresh tomatoes because its peak tomato season here in Northern California. I used roasted peppers: 2 Anaheims, 3 red jalapenos, 1 small green jalapeno, 1 habanero. Because fresh tomatoes are sweet naturally, adding sugar made this recipe too sweet, so I added about a tsp of cumin and chili powder. Still too sweet, so no sugar next time I used vine ripened tomatoes bought at the farmers market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a very good salsa although I made a few changes. I used 5 jal instead of 3, 5 habaneros instead of 1 (seeds and ribs included on both peppers), 3 T of sugar only 5 cans of drained petite diced tomatoes and didn't put the can of chiles in at all. I blended the tomatoes in the blender, mixed it all together and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Remember to do a taste test, since everyone likes more or less of certain spices. I found it to be a little bland since I am a garlic lover but this is a GOOD recipe, very versatile. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States