Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Fabulous! I knew this was going to be a good recipe when I read the ingredients, but it's beyond good. I only had the powdered pectin which I added slowly, stirred frequently and used two boxes. I think in hind sight I could have used a box and a half. You need to cook jelly until it passes the "gel-test." Put a small dish in the freezer until it's cold, drop a puddle of your concoction on the dish and push it back with your finger - if there's a light skin on the top and the mixture slides back, it's done. Mine turned out a little too thick when I put it in the fridge, but at room temperature the texture is perfect. Instead of mincing the red peppers I used peeled/roasted red peppers and put them in a food processor. Worked out perfectly - lovely red flecks of peppers mixed in with the carrot shreds. Now here's the real orgasm... pour some jelly on top of chèvre (goat cheese) and serve it with crackers... OMG! That'll snap any silly cowgirl right on out of the blues! Tomorrow I will try to blend some with butter to make habanero butter... Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am giving this a 5 star because I think I did something wrong that was no fault of the recipe. I am new at making any kind of jam with my concentration being on pepper jams. I did not notice the recipe called for LIQUID pectin so I accidently added the stated amount in powder. My jam has not set up like others I have made. Can someone tell me if it had to do with using powder instead of liquid or is this particular jam more of a honey consistency? I haven't tried any yet because I keep hoping it will set up however it has been about a month and hasn't. Should I just toss and make again using liquid?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is wonderful! I was looking for a way to use up our Habeneros from our garden and I made a small test batch of this. I wish I would have made more! While the carrots scared my bf, they ended up being perfect. They added great color and needed texture. This is very sweet with a lot of warmth it in. It's perfect! Everyone that has tasted it, loves it. My bf has eaten it on crackers, on sandwiches and even added it to some chili I made. It's so good! Now we are eagerly waiting for the current harvest of habeneros to get ripe so I can make a large batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tragik T
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Awesome...I made this in October (picture posted by me) and I opened a jar on Christmas eve and it was a hit. Great with brie... and pretty much anything creamy. Try procuitto(sp?) wrapped pears with blue cheese, and a dollop of jelly. Also I made this into a salad dressing using a spoonful of jelly, olive oil, salt, lemon, & vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tragik T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
very addictive, I added the seeded hot peppers to a food processor with a little of the vinegar and semi pureed before adding to the surgar mixture. The final heat w/ 15 peppers was just right for us, maybe little hot for some and not enough for others. ended up w/ 6 or 7 half pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Booyah
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
First time canning and it was a fun and delicious success! The only change I made was using Serrano peppers in place of Habaneros (we had a bumper crop this year) which turned out to be the perfect combination of heat and sweet. The jelly looks almost artistic inside the jars! I will definitely be giving these out as gifts! As a side note, the yield was actually 6 half-pint jars instead of the 8 shown in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Booyah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
We had bags of habaneros from the garden, and this was a great way to make use of them. The recipe came together very easily--though you may want to make sure you have plenty of ventilation when you de-seed the peppers. The taste and texture of the jelly is very good. Like others, I had concerns about the carrots, but they do blend well. There is a strong vinegar scent to the finished jelly that I find off-putting. When I make a second batch, I'll cut the vinegar with a little water or use apple cider instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I haven't tried it yet but the ingredients add up to almost four 8 oz. jars. How did you get eight 8 oz. jars? What did I do wrong? I must add that I'm a first time jelly maker. I'll update my review after I taste it (hoping that I didn't accidentally sabotage the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe makes the best jelly. I love it with cream cheese and crackers. I would add one thing to the first step though, open all of the windows in your house. This is hot to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is great and very easy! I followed the recipe exactly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States