Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is excellent.The carrot ads to this greatly. I made the mistake of sharing with friends and my jars are all over town.Next year I'm charging for them...LOL. Perfect with whole wheat crackers and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Killbuck, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've never made jelly before and I'm a beginning canner, but this recipe was super user friendly. I haven't tried the jam yet, but it's very visually beautiful and smells delicious, so I can't wait to try other reviewers suggestions of eating this on soft cheeses, as a marinade, or even on PB&J! The only thing I think I would do differently next time is use the liquid pectin--I tried the powdered kind and simply made it "liquid" by preparing a package of the pectin with the Quick method--i.e. boiling it for 1 minute with 3/4 cup water and then stirring it in the jelly mix. The jelly turned out really thin, almost like a jarred sweet chili sauce like you'd find in Asian cooking. I'm not sure if it will set up more or if I'm just stuck with a thick suryp instead, but I will either try to add more powdered pectin next time or use the liquid (which I was having trouble finding at the grocery store). In any case, this is inexperience on my part, not problems with the recipe. I agree with other users that it made less than stated--I also made the mistake of using larger jars so this recipe only filled one big jar and then one small one. Sad--I was hoping to have a lot more, but again, I'll make adjustments next time. The color is gorgeous--I found it helpful to rough chop the carrot shreds, red pepper and the habaneros in my food processor--much for uniform pieces that were more conducive to jelly. The carrots are a must--the finished jelly is a bright, reddish orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oboegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
The recipe is easy to follow and makes a beautiful batch of molten lava jelly. It has layers to it, sweet, sour, hot and nice texture from the carrots. I decided to try this recipe because of all the habanero peppers I had this year from my garden and it is a nice pepper jelly. I cut the habaneros in half this time because I'm not into super hot jelly and next time I make it I'll cut down even more. All in all, if you like hot and spicy with a nice depth of flavors then you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is an amazing jelly! My sister made it two years ago, I made it last year, and this year I had to double my habarnero plants to keep up with the demand of the rest of the family! Making jelly is HARD, but this recipe gives great, clear directions. This year, I bought a Ball Utensil Set for Preserving, which is a God-send. I used a food processor for the peppers and carrots to make life easier, but otherwise have never deviated from the recipe. Serve it over brie or goat cheese, and it's a fabulous appetizer. Or do what my sister-in-law does, and make it your favorite condiment for sandwiches! Regardless, you'll love it, and you'll find yourself trying to figure out who is "jelly-worthy", because this jelly goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I loved this! I added alot more habaneros-maybe 20-25? Everything worked perfectly. I wore gloves and sunglasses while chopping and was glad I did. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I just started making hot pepper jelly this year, after several requests for it at our farmers markets. Lucky for me, I had a huge abundance of hot peppers with which to do so. This jelly is great, because you don't have to strain the peppers out of it, and it is sweet and spicy. Great when served with cream cheese on crackers. It's a must, and I am making as much as I can while I have the produce. Definitely the best recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
this is a favorite on cream cheese with crackers or bake on chicken/pork to prevent foam: 1 teaspoon of butter, margarine or vegetable oil, added before you heat the mixture will almost eliminate it. On the downside, some food scientists worry that the small amount of butter could cause the batch to spoil sooner. I suspect this particular group of scientists probably still live at home...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dickyB
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I threw in a ghost chili for fun and it makes the burn last a little longer. I put it over cream cheese and serve with ritz crackers, or make PB&J sandwiches and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious! Gave it as Christmas gifts to family and friends and everyone raved about it. Especially good with crackers and cheese. Meat-eating friends also liked it on roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and full of flavor and vibrant color. I had a can of roasted red bell peppers, so I tried subbing them for the raw in the recipe, the second time I made this jelly, and it was wonderful. I also tend to gently shake the jars as they cool so that the mixure combines as it sets, rather than let the solid parts float, I prefer the even distribution to the floating effect. I give these every year at Christmas along with a jar of Strawberry Preserves (also found on this website) and everyone loves it. This year I made it a little hotter than usual and got rave reviews from all my family, so I will not skimp on the habanero any more. Try it over cream cheese with crackers, a distinct crowd pleaser at parties, and very pretty when displayed on a platter nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States