Habanero Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very very easy recipe for someone who has limited experience with making jellies. Definitely wear gloves when cutting the Habaneras - might even want to wear glasses of some type to protect your eyes. Final flavor has a warm punch and pulls out the best in the Habanera - tastes terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Wonderful idea to use carrot. The finished product looks and tastes great. I used my food processor with chopping blade to chop 11 hot peppers, seeds and all, then placed on a fine shredding blade to shred 1 carrot and 1 red pepper. I put that in a pot with 1 cup of white vinegar and 1.25 cups crab apple juice (instead of the pectin) and the sugar. After boiling for approximately 10 minutes it was thickened enough and then I processed it for 5 minutes. I check for thickening by dipping a fork in and when it starts to stick between about half of the tines and look a little bit syrupy I call it done. I like using the apple pectin from crab apples that I harvest because it avoids using liquid pectin and I think it tastes better. This modification left some vinegar but not enough to leave a vinegar taste as Steve noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
halved the recipe...used same amount of carrots for texture...looks good about to taste it on some cream cheese and crackers...awesum...and will get better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe and, by accident, found a new twist. My husband planted habanero and Jalapeno, so I had to mix them to get the numbers for the recipe. They were also green (could not wait to get them red). And in the end, I came to realize I did not have liquid pectin, so I used powder and I was short of the amount (or did not convert properly). So I had a very tasty result, where the hot peppers caramelized. But it did not set with the consistency of a jelly -- Instead of redoing or thickening (because I had already sealed the jars), I tried this recipe as "habanero/jalapeno/ sweet pepper DRESSING", and warmed it up a little and coated my green leaves salad with some pear and walnuts. It was so addictive I am using the batch as a dressing and I thicken it a bit with cream cheese or other similar creamy type of cheese to eat with crackers. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Today I got all the correct ingredients and will make it a true jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make. It was our first attempt at a jelly. I was hoping for something with more heat (it's more of a mild tingle), so next time I'll throw in a LOT more habanero seeds, maybe a little more red pepper for colour, and a bit less sugar. And more habanero seeds. Really. More.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Wow-- I love this stuff. Just the right amount of hot. This was my first canning experience, and everything went perfectly. Just follow the directions and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is very good. A local farm stands sells pepper jam and it is expensive. This is so good and will be great over brie. You can also add it to sauces to give the sauce an extra kick. It is also very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a great tasting jelly! For a half recipe I used 8 habaneros. It's perfect, not too hot and not too mild. Yum yum yum! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Thanks, was looking for a recipe that would be good for holiday gifts for those who are looking for something with heat...got everything ready to make and found only had one pouch of liquid pectin. After much research I decided I would go with the powdered, used 8 TBS of the Ball brand that comes loose in a bottle, those who said they used powdered never said when they put it in. I decided I would use it like I do with other jam recipes & put it along with the carrots, both peppers and vinegar at the beginning, brought to a boil and cooked for 5 minutes. Added the sugar, brought back up to a rolling boil to cook for another minute then put in jars and water bath. It was thick when going into the jars. Got 6- 1/2 pint jars of very pretty jam. Think this will be a hit as it wasn't real hot eating but it sure leaves your mouth, or at least mine, tingling afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I just finished making this recipe. I was so disappointed because it turned out to be way too hot. I don't think we can eat it but I will make another batch and cut down on the habaneros. I think this recipe should be revised and reposted. The flavor is good but I just wasted a whole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States