Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
If you like your chili hot this is the one! I made this chili for some guys and everybody loved it. I definitely will make this again.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
hellfire is right! die-hard chili eaters only! this one packs a punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Very good - I cut back on the amount of peppers for a milder version but would recomend it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I was short by half the Anaheim peppers called for, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I pureed the tomatoes and peppers for a smooth chili, and the texture turned out just perfect. I like very hot food, but this was a little too hot for even me! Husband loved it as is, but he's obviously insane. The proportions and flavor are perfect as-is, my only change will be to lose about half the peppers and see if I can eat more than a few bites next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
EXCELLENT! I only used 3 habanero, 3 seranno (in place of the anaheim, which I could not find) and 6 jalapeno. It was not too spicy. A little kick, but that was all. So, so tasty, I think it's the bacon that makes this dish... Next time, and there will be a next time!, I'll use the full amount of habaneros and try to find anaheim chilis.. Serve with yummy crusty french bread for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I have made this recipe twice now and get rave reviews from our guests everytime. Depending on who is going to be eating the chili, I adjust the amount of peppers to regulate the hottness. This makes great chili leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe that is flexible enough for tweaking. I won a very close 3rd place at a chile cook-off with a slight variation on this recipe. The heat from the peppers comes on slowly and fills the whole mouth, instead of burning a part of your tongue until you're in tears. I used diced pork instead of ground (a great contrast in texture). Also, I couldn't find Anaheims, so I threw in a couple of serranos and a can of chipotles with the adobo sauce. It was just a fantastic chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Super Chili! Great taste with a punch! Only put 4 Habaneros and substituted tabasco sauce for the Anaheims. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
loved this. you must really like really hot food to like this. my boyfriend LOVED it too. i couldn't find habaneros so i just added extras of the other peppers. everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I love this recipe. I entered a chili contest and won 2nd place, not bad. Adding the best beer possible, gave it a unique flavor that everyone was trying to figure out what it was. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States