Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Halved it and it was still an enormous amount of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We love spicy foods so we bumped this recipe up a bit. Beans were reduced by half a can and we went with 8 of each pepper, keeping the seeds. The result was about as hot as a real Thai dish. (I wouldn't recommend this modification to anyone who isn't sure what a real Thai dish is, though, as it may remove a few layers from your soft palate.) I would also recommend latex gloves when handling the habaneros. I didn't do this and my left paw is now pink and hairless. The chili is so good, however, that it was worth it. 5 stars and a "Yee Haw!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pablo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fabulous! All those peppers blend when cooked and mellow into a wonderful, deliciously spicy chili! I would put the spice rating at 6+ on a 1-10 scale. We used all of the peppers and added a bit of red wine, replaced one green pepper with an orange bell pepper (we doubled the recipe), used ale instead of beer, used no water, and lightened up on the meat by about a pound (again, we doubled it) & used chili sauce instead of chili paste. Unbelievable~ we won our little chili/soup contest by a landslide out of about 10 chili's plus 6 or so other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di9977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe, like to add a few more beans to thicken things up and stretch it out a bit and if people complain about the spice I hand them some sour cream and/or cheese. Other than that always prepare as directed and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great if you can take it. We can! Better have a lot of sour cream on hand:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I absolutely love this chili, as does everyone who I have made it for! I have never really liked chili, but this one I LOVE! I also make a variation of this chili that is not so hot for those who cant handle the spicyness, aslo fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I make chili A LOT, and thought I might have hit the jackpot with this recipe. Sorry, I had high hopes, but my family was "so so" about it. They told me to stick with the one I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great chili with great heat. Not too much, just right, I may actually add a few habenero's next time to make it good and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgillogy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is without question, the best chili I have made. Anahiem peppers are not available at my stores, so I make up the difference by doubling the habaneros( I grow these in my garden) I tweaked the recipe the second time I made it, to fit my taste. There's no need to add water to this chili,unless you like it soupy. Easy to prep, and well worth the effort of seeding all those peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Great recipe! It's got some good kick to it. The only thing I changed was upping the spices to my personal tastes and adding an entire onion. Thanks for the recipe. We'll be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States