Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe had excellent flavor, but I may have had poor habenero peppers. It didn't have the heat that we were looking for. I made it for a football party, and everybody loved it...it just needed a little more spice. Next time I will use a few more habenero peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I know some people dislike when people tell about the variations they made; I personally find it very useful. I kept all the basics, but I was lacking some items. I had no pork; I used a whole pound of bacon and I cubed 12 oz of beef tenderloin steak. I added a dash of nutmeg, cardamom and tiny bit of cinnamon. Also 3 bay leaves. I think lime and beer go together, so I added 1/4 of a lime. The spices gave some sweetness, and lime just added a sassy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had never made chili before. This was an easy recipe to follow. I think next time I make it I will not seed some of the peppers as I think it could be hotter for my taste. Overall nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The family loved this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
There is no way you could ever pay me enough to try a recipe like this so I'm going to review it from my husband's perspective. He thinks it is AWESOME! I make it for him every couple of months, and I follow the recipe exactly. He sweats as he is eating it and enjoys every bite. Thanks for a great meal for the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was good with a smokey spice though not quite as hot as I imagined it to be. Still really tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Awesome dish! It is "hot" but not as hot as I thought it would be. I had to make a few changes because I could not find the ingredient or did not have the ingredient on hand. I used 1 large Poblano chili pepper in place of the Anaheim and I used hot sauce for the chile paste. I used beef broth, 1 (28 oz) can of whole tomatoes and 1 (14.5 oz) can. I used 3 cans of chili beans, used a 6 oz can of tomato paste and did not use any water. The consistency was perfect. I also added 1 t. of brown sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Awesome chili! It is my son's favorite ever. Definitely wear gloves for the prep otherwise every tiny cut on your hands will be on fire. I up the garlic 2-3x. Using turkey bacon and turkey/beef for this batch due already being too fat for all the pork. Hopefully it will be just as good as the original. I also just cook a bag of dried kidney beans instead of the canned. Simmer the rest of the ingredients together while the beans cook then combine. Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
this is the best chili ever. Everyone I ever made it for loves it. We will cook this out side during the colder months of October and all before the snow and it is a fun time. becoming a tradition. we make a huge batch with the pals and always taste test planty of the beer that we are going to add. Then we enjoy a steaming batch of this hellish delight. Best chili by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaelbacon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I grow my own Habeneros and Jalepenos but I only had 4 Habeneros at the time I made this, so it might have been called "heckfire chili". Then again, my home grown varieties are smaller and hotter then grocery store ones so maybe not. If you can't find whole Anaheim peppers, you might be able to find them dried. New Mexico chili peppers work well too. If there is a Latino grocery nearby you should be able to find them there. If I am going to spend the 2 hours making this, I'll use dried beans instead of canned. You will reduce the sodium and it will taste better. Just boil them in a separate pot while you are cooking everything else, add some baking soda about 15 minutes before the end and drain before adding them in the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States