Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great flavor...I followed the recipe and made it in the slow cooker. I did add some brown sugar at the end which I like to do with tomatoes to take away some of the acidity. It just seemed a little soupy so I might just reduce the amount of water next time. Served with some corn bread muffins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I added all the ingredients except for the chili paste. I also did not seed the chile's. Overall the flavor was excellent. The only issue I had with this was, it was too soupy. Does anyone have any ideas on reducing this...besides not adding the water? I still loved this recipe and will make it again with a few adjustments...the addition of a can of kidney beans and not adding the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
this is the perfect chili! good and hot and oh so tasty! i doubled the recipe and made it with venison instead of beef and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpenttila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babbitt, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This chili is KILLER, I love hot and spicy food and this is it, I'll never make another chili, I'm adopting this one as my own - made it about 4 times now and it's great every time, just be warned it's not for the weak - it's HELLFIRE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Really good and really spicy. I didn't use the ground pork because I don't eat pork, but I did substitute with a beef sausage and it was amazing. Had to use a little less of the spicy seasonings because I had little ones eating it as well, but it was very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotGyrl1277

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This chili was incredible-- I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoomasRayluff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Best chili I've ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This chili is awesome but unfortunately I ate all the bacon while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I can't handle hot food, but I made this for my family and they were not expecting how hot this recipe really is. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I try my best to follow a recipe exactly the first time. Unfortunately, I could not find habanero peppers in my small town so I settled for serrano. And it hurt this recipe, I know, because habaneros and I are old friends. (I grow my own.) I know I lost a lot of heat, but the taste was excellent. I would bet w/habaneros this would be hellfire, but with serranos it was just hell... with the fire put out. Still it would be spicy enough for those who are not leather mouths. And, again, the flavor is excellent. Many thanks, Edd. I will try this again when the peppers come in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States