Habanero Hellfire Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This chili is awesome but unfortunately I ate all the bacon while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I can't handle hot food, but I made this for my family and they were not expecting how hot this recipe really is. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I try my best to follow a recipe exactly the first time. Unfortunately, I could not find habanero peppers in my small town so I settled for serrano. And it hurt this recipe, I know, because habaneros and I are old friends. (I grow my own.) I know I lost a lot of heat, but the taste was excellent. I would bet w/habaneros this would be hellfire, but with serranos it was just hell... with the fire put out. Still it would be spicy enough for those who are not leather mouths. And, again, the flavor is excellent. Many thanks, Edd. I will try this again when the peppers come in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Turned out really good. Obviously "hot" is relative since some people like really spicy foods and others don't. If you don't like spicy food, obviously find a different recipe. If you do, it's fantastic. Great flavor from this chili, not just all burn and no taste. Two things: may not want to use 2 cups of water. It was a little too soupy for my tastes, I like my chili thick. I'd cut it to 1 cup. Also, make it ahead of time. I made it on Saturday and stuck it in the fridge until Monday. Flavors blend together quite nicely as it ages. It tasted much better Monday than it did Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great flavor!!! Used Serrano's instead of Jalapeno's, beef broth instead of beer, chicken in place of beef cubes, and I added white pepper plus mexican oregano.Also, used sauce instead of diced and diced in place of whole. I know that sounds like a lot of changes but it was all because of personal taste nothing against the recipe. I always wanted to find a HOT recipe...now I have! Hot but not enough you can't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is very good! I forgot to drain the beans and only partially drained the peeled tomoatoes but did not add any water. It warms the mouth without burning, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Some like it hot...and this chili is spicy! We love it. Followed it to the letter and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great for Superbowl, second time I've made it and the compliments role in. I was hesitant to follow directions but did it anyways and it was dead on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Fey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was delicious. It wasn't nearly as hot as I thought it was going to be. I eat Indian food regularly, and this doesn't compare to Indian Vindaloo. My apprehension had to grounds, this chili was incredible! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this recipe as written except I didn't use the chili paste because I have no idea what that is? I also couldn't find fresh habanero's so I had to use the ones that come in a jar. I think that really hurt my results because, believe it or not, this recipe was just NOT hot enough. I'm sure the fresh ones would have made it hotter. The chili was still very tasty, but I've made other chili that was just as tasty and hot enough for me, with far fewer ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States